Various artists album review
Boogie Down
10 - 10 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Cocoa Tea - Stand Up Straight
  2. Lukie D - You Will Make It
  3. Beenie Man - Boogie Down
  4. Admiral Tibett - Stop The Corruption
  5. Jah Mali - Every Man's Burden
  6. Louie Culture - Love The Vibes
  7. Bushman - So Easy
  8. Jack Radics - You Can't Be
  9. Morgan Heritage - Reggae Bring Back Love
  10. Daddy Screw - Sock It To Me
  11. Prezident Brown - Be Wise
  12. Terror Fabulous - School Is A Must
  13. Louie Culture - Watch Out Fi Dem
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

Robert Dixon, better known as Bobby 'Digital' Dixon, got his nickname because his arrival at King Jammys coincided with the rise of Steelie and Clevie's computerised riddim tracks in 1985. He rapidly learned dub-cutting, voicing and mixing under King Jammy's tuition. Very soon he was to play a pivotal role in the running of the studio and recorded extensively with artists like Sanchez, Cocoa Tea, Shabba Ranks, Chaka Demus, Admiral Bailey and many more. Three years later he formed his own Heat Wave sound sytem, build his own studio and set up his Digital B label. Since then he has become one of Jamaica's leading producers, with top albums by Garnett Silk, Pinchers, Glen Ricks, Sanchez, Admiral Tibet, Shabba Ranks, Dirtsman, Morgan Heritage and Leroy Smart. He is specialised in recreating classics from the past and has released numerous one (or two) riddim albums. With his credentials as a fellow ghetto youth made good, an extensive array of gifted artists and a burgeoning reputation with a wider audience after his work with international acts, Bobby Digital is well situated to stay a leading producer well into the next age.
Boogie Down is a tasty compilation of Digital B's cuts to 'Mellow Mood'. The Wailers recorded this song in 1967 for their Wail'n'Soul label.
All tracks are recorded and mixed at Digital B Studio, and the Firehouse Crew provides the backing track. On one of the strongest tracks of the album -Morgan Heritage's Reggae Bring Back Love, D.Browne puts down a nice country & western like guitar solo.
Beenie Man provides the title track, and it's a treat ! Admiral Tibett and Jah Mali provide two further standout tracks, Stop The Corruption and Every Man's Burden. Louie 'Ganga Lee' Culture is featured twice here. Love The Vibes was a popular song and the cd bonus track Watch Out Fi Dem is another keeper.
Cocoa Tea is a talented artist and his Stand Up Straight lives up to his high standard. Prezident Brown's lyrics are relatively original and his delivery is excellent. So Easy, the Bushman track, is a solid performance with cultural lyrics and makes a fine impression. School Is A Must by Terror Fabulous emphasises the importance of education.
Excellent throughout !

Check out the Digital Impact album : 17 cuts on the Solomon riddim.
Check out the Let's Groove - Compilation No. 1 album : Bobby Digital inna lovers stylee.

Teacher & Mr. T.