Various artists album review
Rhythm Choice Vol. 5 ~ Bounce
Bakchich Records-Walboomers Music
06 - 05 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Degree - Oh Yeahee
  2. Chico - Enemy
  3. Spragga Benz - Dem
  4. Baby Cham - Babylon Bwoy
  5. T.O.K. - When Again
  6. Beenie Man - Trouble Maker
  7. Frankie Sly - Yuh Nuh
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Seven of the initially released eleven versions for Dave Kelly's "Bounce" are featured on this fifth installment in Bakchich Records' "Rhythm Choice" series. With the "Bounce" - unleashed in the year 2000 - ace producer Dave Kelly adds another big dancehall riddim to his hit list, which furthermore includes "Pepperseed", "Rae Rae", "Action", "Arab", "Joyride", "Haunted", "Showtime", "Stink", "Dugu Dugu", "Bruk-Out", "Back Yard", "Bug" and "Clone". In the early nineties Dave Kelly had dancehall classics such as Buju Banton ‘s "Bogle", "Love Mi Browning" and "Batty Rider"; Beres Hammond & Cutty Ranks’ "Tempted to Touch", Tony Rebel’s "Fresh Vegetable", and Marcia Griffith’s "Fire Burning" under his production credits.
1992 saw the birth of Dave Kelly's own record label "Madhouse Records", which was followed by his own distribution house, "Platinum Distribution" in 1996. "Madhouse" is highly organized and efficient in a world where chaos reigns supreme. Whereas the traditional reggae label floods the market with dozens of releases, "Madhouse Records" only drops a few select records a year. Releases on the flagship "Madhouse" and sub-labels like Xtra Large (XL) which cater to more hardcore tastes include such hit tunes as Beenie Man’s "Slam" and "Old Dog", Lady Saw’s "Sycamore Tree" and "Eh Hem", Frisco Kid’s "Rubbers" and "Little and Cute", Bounty Killer’s "Eagle and the Hawk" and "Can’t Believe My Eyes", Spragga Benz’s "Dolly House" and "We Nuh Like", Wayne Wonder’s "Joyride" and "Bashment Girl", Baby Cham’s "Gallong Yah Gal", Daddy Screw & Donovan Steele’s "Kerry", Terror Fabulous & Nadine Sutherland’s "Action", Buju Banton’s "Big It Up" and "Only Man".
Degree kicks off this mini-album with a notable effort entitled "Oh Yeahee", thus setting the pace for a very enjoble bashment selection of the original and inventive "Bounce" riddim. Chico truly deserves some more attention (and a full length album!!) as he once again proves with his awesome "Enemy". Next drops Spragga Benz's "Dem" which is another solid effort for the riddim. Baby Cham has recorded three versions across the "Bounce" riddim namely "Man And Man", "Ma People" and "Babylon Bwoy". The latter is featured here and although especially "Man And Man" has been extremely well received in the first place this "Babylon Bwoy" tune is a vital matching cut. T.O.K.'s "When Again" and also Beenie Man's excellent "Trouble Maker" keep the dancehall vibes flowing freely and belong to highlights on this set. Frankie Sly's "Yuh Nuh" rounds off this "one riddim" set in fine style.

Note : The track listing on the sleeve includes DJ Skaz's "Bounce Megamix", but this track isn't featured on the CD.

Teacher & Mr. T.