Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Buy Out
K..Licious Music/VP Records - Walboomers Music
07 - 01 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Mr. Easy - Drive Me Crazy
  2. Beenie Man - Miss L.A.P.
  3. Notch - Nuttin Nuh Go So
  4. Sean Paul - Like Glue
  5. Bud - Tonight
  6. T.O.K. - Money To Burn
  7. Sadeki - Gal Dem Everytime
  8. Elan - Red Red Wine
  9. Tanto Metro & Devonte - That Fire
  10. Spragga Benz & Twice - Real Niggas
  11. Voise Mail - Work It Out
  12. Elan - Put It On
  13. Gabriel - When You See Me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

In recent years Tony "CD" Kelly has brought the Dancehall massive hit riddims like for example "Bookshelf", "Unda Watta", "Giddy Up" and "Kiki", to name a few. Red alert, 'cause here's his latest exciting beat entitled "Buy Out". Already hotter than hot right now with nuff cuts 'pon 7" single finding their way to the Dancehall fans in Jamaica and abroad, VP Records present them all on one compilation set as part of their acclaimed "Riddim Driven" series.
The "Buy Out" is an amazing, infectious riddim which perfectly fits those who are looking for a wicked backdrop to dance to, 'cause once the music gets started one really gets in a dancing mood. Many great pieces for the riddim are featured here, including some real catchy tunes with hit potential. When it comes to already widely known dancehall artists one is treated to the excellent "Miss L.A.P" (which stands for "Lovely Awesome Person") from the "doctor" Beenie Man, with Mr. Easy's "Drive Me Crazy", Sean Paul's "Like Glue" and T.O.K.'s ("Money To Burn") being vital matching cuts, all showcasing each artist's strength to the max. Relatively unknown artists like Bud (a fine singer with some serious potential), Sadeki and Voise Mail also deliver notable pieces and fully deserve the "repeat button" treatment. Last but not least, don't forget to check the wicked combination tune "Real Niggas" which sees Spragga Benz teaming up with Red Square singer Twice.
This "Buy Out" set is definitely a great addition to any Dancehall collection!

Teacher & Mr. T.