Conscious Dancehall Music Volume One
Ras-I-Production / VP Records
July 21, 2005

Track list

  1. Bad Mind - Derrick Parker
  2. Control Your Temper - Ginjah
  3. Poor People Cry - Donyki
  4. Do You - Luciano, Mikey General, Michigan, Pampi Judah, Asil, Ajah & Jeffery Star
  5. I Remember - Lukie D
  6. Put It On - Luton Fyah
  7. Give You - Pam Hall
  8. Gone Crazy - Pampi Judah
  9. No Time To Play - Gaddiel
  10. Speak You Mind - Capleton
  11. Open Your Heart - Jah Mason
  12. Talk To The Youth - Dawitt
  13. Hot Again - Kettle
  14. Tempo Version - Donnie Marshall
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
It's been as long ago for the late and great King Tubby to join the digital revolution, as it has been for the in its 20th anniversary year omnipresent 'Sleng Teng'-producer, his 'rival' and former apprentice Lloyd 'King Jammy' James. In 1985, just after the release of 'Sleng Teng' started it, dub wizard Osbourne 'King Tubby' Ruddock followed his 'student' into the digital era with the release of Anthony Redrose's "Tempo" on his Firehouse label. Kingston, JA born 'Ras' Anthony Gordon, produced the Donnie Marshall (not to be confused with the jazz drummer) 2K5 relick of 'Tempo' for his Ras-I-Production alongside Studio One graduate Anthony 'Papa Michigan' Fairclough, who partnering General Smiley rocked the dancehalls more than 25 years ago with their "Rub A Dub Style" (for Studio One over 'Vanity' in 1978), "Nice Up The Dance" (for Studio One over 'Real Rock' one year later), "One Love Jam Down" and "Diseases" (for Henry 'Junjo' Lawes' Volcano over 'Mad Mad' a.k.a. 'Diseases' in 1982) with Michigan getting the production credits alone for tracks 4 to 8. The first track is Derrick Parker's fabulous "Bad Mind", with its delivery bringing back memories of the times when this riddim hit first. Recently the song "Buss Me Appeal" on his own Mt. Sinai label has placed singer Derrick Parker back on the charts, after a 14-year absence. Derrick Parker, who is trying to restart his in 1984 started career (that peaked in the late 80s and early 90s) since being released from New York's Fort Dix Prison in the US after a four year sentence, penned that song from personal experience, something echoing through in "Bad Mind", with Derrick sounding remarkably young and fresh. Former Beres Hammond protégé Ginjah (who has since 'leaving' Harmony House 4 years ago recorded for Germany's Silly Walks, but mainly for Stephen 'Gibbo' Gibbs) delivers the fine "Control Your Temper" followed by Donyki, who has been releasing tunes for even 3 years more now, but being underrecorded heavily never got his real breakthrough, and his "Poor People Cry" is a fine attempt to change that. The five Papa Michigan solo-productions are up next, with the excellent "Ain't Got Love" combining the voices of Luciano, Mikey General, Michigan himself and newcomers Pampi Judah, Asil, Ajah and Jeffery Star the first one of them. Lukie D contributes the great my-woman's-gone tune "I Remember" before Lutan Fyah impresses with the fiercely delivered "Put It On". Pam Halls shows she is not only one of the finest female backing singers, but also still capable of singing superb lovers tunes like "Give You" my heart / give you my soul. Pampi Judah's "Gone Crazy" is the last tune produced by Michigan solo, a very fine singjay tune about how this world's gone mad. Gaddiel's "No Time To Play" is a weaker tune, deejayed at a slow pace with a voice that I'm not really fond of, lyrically OK though. Capleton is fully on top of the riddim telling "Speak You Mind" you're free / no matter what the consequence will be and Jah Mason is as impressive on his conscious tune "Open Your Heart" before newcomer Dawitt shows how to ride the riddim at a slower pace on "Talk To The Youth". Kettle's "Hot Again" is a very nice self-boasting tune before the dubby "Tempo Version" unveils the sheer power of this 20 year old riddim from the birth era of digital reggae, with this relick of it not being far behind the 1994 Penthouse and 1999 Star Trail versions of it.