Chachi Riddim
Germaica Digital
Digital Release
May 5, 2012

Chachi Riddim - Various Artists Track list
  1. Ward 21 & Deewunn - Pepper Pot Thing
  2. RDX - Bumpa Cyaat
  3. Tom Hype - Bei Uns In Kärnt'n
  4. Stylo G & Serocee - Me Nuh Waan Hear Nuttn
  5. Sanjin & Youthman - I'm Not A Terrorist
  6. Rage - Bounce It
  7. Shabu - Chachi
  8. Ryo Vibes - Dance Hard Party Mad
  9. Mo$ion - Murda
  10. Hålogolandslaget - Gni Det In
  11. Mercci - Run Dem Out
  12. Blaqk Sheep - Roll Gyal (Roll It)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 2
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Late 2002 Dennis Shaw aka D-Rakkas teamed up with Alex Greggs to found the Florida-based South Rakkas Crew, which became one of the hottest dancehall music production teams in the first decade of the new millennium. The dynamic South Rakkas Crew, known for its experimental and innovative production works, gave the global dancehall community blazing riddims such as "Clappas", "Red Alert", "Bionic Ras", and "Chinkuzi" with guest vocals from heavy-hitting dancehall artists like Beenie Man, Elephant Man, Bounty Killer, Capleton, Lady Saw, Mr. Vegas, T.O.K., Ce'Cile, Mr. Easy, Vybz Kartel, and Sizzla. However South Rakkas Crew didn't limit themselves to producing rugged dancehall. The 'boundery-pushing' Crew also produced shameless pop, hipster electro bangers, and rude dubstep.

And now, some six years after the release of their "Chinkuzi" riddim, the South Rakkas Crew (i.e. D-Rakkas) has written another exiting chapter in their riddim book. Teaming up with Germaica Digital (formerly Germaican Records), the German label responsible for the acclaimed "Doctor's Darling" riddim, which brought Tanya Stephens' "It's A Pity" international hit success, led to the release of South Rakkas Crew's highly anticipated and long overdue new dancehall riddim called "Chachi". The latter, a wild, unbridled and explosive electro-dancehall juggling affair, features a nice selection of dancehall artists from around the world including Ward 21 & Deewunn, RDX, and new comers Mo$ion, Rage and Blaqk Sheep from Jamaica alongside Tom Hype (Austria), Stylo G & Serocee (UK), Shabu and Mercci (Spain), Sanjin & Youthman (Bosnia/Sweden), Hålogolandslaget (Norway), and Ryo Vibes (Japan).

The "Chachi" riddim melds elements of different music styles and is probably best labeled as electro-dancehall. Compared to the currently produced dancehall riddims, it's an unique riddim that once again bears witness to South Rakkas Crew's acclaimed innovative production style. Apart from Rage's "Bounce It", which could already be heard on the 2011 released "Gangsta Revival EP" (Mad Decent), this compilation features previously unreleased material. Although "Pepper Pot Thing" by Ward 21 & Deewunn more or less easily qualifies as a lead-off tune, there are other efforts that come very close to this qualification. These include RDX's "Bumpa Cyaat" and "I'm Not A Terrorist" by Sanjin & Youthman. Also Stylo G & Serocee ("Me Nuh Waan Hear Nuttn"), Shabu ("Chachi"), Rage ("Bounce It") and Blaqk Sheep ("Roll Gyal (Roll It)") add some similarly good tunes.

South Rakkas Crew's "Chachi" riddim marks a welcome return of this production outfit in the dancehall arena.