Various artists album review
Chapter 2 Of "Words"
20 - 09 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Lee Perry & The Upsetters - Words (intro)
  2. The Stingers - Forward Up
  3. Upsetters - Forward (version)
  4. Upsetters - Nebuchadnezzer
  5. Chenley Duffus & The Soul Avengers - Peace
  6. Upsetters - Peace (version)
  7. Leo Graham - Three Blind Mice
  8. Upsetters - Max Skank
  9. Lee Perry & THe Upsetters - Station Underground News
  10. Lee Perry & The Upsetters - Sunshine Showdown
  11. Lee Perry & The Upsetters - Sunshine Showdown (version)
  12. I Roy - Dr. Who
  13. Dave Barker - Sunshine Rock
  14. Dennis Alcapone - Rasta Dub
  15. Upsetters - Rasta (version)
  16. I Roy & Lee Perry - Space Flight
  17. Jerry Lewis & Lee Perry - Burning Wire
  18. Lee Perry & The Upsetters - Militant Rock
  19. Upsetters - Silver Locks
  20. Lee Perry & The Upsetters - Words
  21. Upsetters - Little Flute Chant
  22. Prince Django - Hot Tip
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 4/5

Trojan Records has released a compilation album which collects treasures from the vaults of artist/producer Lee Perry aka "Scratch". This set is the sequel to Trojan's 'Words Of My Mouth' compilation, which was released in 1996 and proved immensely popular with collectors. Described in "Echoes' as the best Lee Perry collection ever, it was named album of the month by Dub Vendor, made no. 2 in the Roots & Culture charts, and became one of the best selling revival releases that year.
Between 1972 and 1973 excentric producer/artist/wizzard/madman Lee 'Scratch' Perry was at the forefront of reggae music. He collaborated extensively with King Tubby during this period. Although he had been experimenting with dub techniques before, the technology at Tubby's now gave him the opportunity to employ reverb, echo and special effects, which carried his music to new heights of innovation.
Chapter 2 of 'Words' includes ultra rare tracks from Trojan's back catalogue, two newly discovered versions of Bob Marley's 'Keep On Moving' by deejay Dennis Alcapone -Rasta Dub- and the matching version by The Upsetters. 'Words Of My Mouth', recorded first as a vocal by The Gatherers in 1973, is versioned here by Prince Django as Hot Tip, whilst Perry's own offering is showcased with an amazing flute version, probably from Egbert Evans. An unused take from the Gatherers' recording session prefaces this set, complete with a sampled Perry intro onto it.
Two versions on Junior Byles' classic cut 'Curley Locks' are also featured in this collection : Lee Perry's Militant Rock, a complementary cut to 'Dreader Locks', is rather deceiving. Far from being militant, the track sees Scratch in a mellow mood, scatting over the riddim in a relaxed manner. This laid back style is featured again on the second version -Silver Locks-, where he's somewhat overshadowed by the superb guitar and percussion work.
Forward Up by The Stingers is marked by the sound of a motorbike on the intro and contains a thunderous opus to ganga. The dub cut is even more notable. The vocal cut to The Upsetters' Nebuchadnezzer is Junior Byles' 'King Of Babylon'. Chenley Duffus recorded Peace to celebrate the tenth anniversary of Jamaican independence. On Sunshine Showdown Scratch comments on the George Foreman versus Joe Frazier title fight, over the 'Give Me Power' riddim. Leo Graham's vocal cut 'News Flash' provides the riddim for Lee Perry's Station Underground News, whilst Leo Graham himself is included here with the original outing of Three Blind Mice (recut later in the 70s by Max Romeo), which saw release on the Summit imprint with Mice Skank on the flip.
Chapter 2 Of "Words" sticks to the same winning formula as 'Words Of My Mouth' and can best be described as a vital and ital compilation from one of the undisputed masters of Jamaican music, Lee 'Scratch' Perry.

Teacher & Mr. T.