Various artists album review
Chich Vol. 12
Bakchich Records-Walboomers Music
02 - 05 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Mr. Lex - Full Hundred
  2. Red Rat - Hardcore
  3. Singing Prince & Gabriel - From The Ghetto
  4. Tiwony - Les Artisans De La Fausseté
  5. T.O.K. - Same Team
  6. Flourgon - Girl's Room
  7. Uman - L'habit Ne Fait Le Moins
  8. Copper Cat - Bend The Tree
  9. Elephant Man - Draw We Out
  10. Singing Prince & Danny English - Hot Ladies
  11. Jah Mason - Up Deh
  12. T.O.K. - Ready Anytime
  13. Bounty Killa - My Decision
  14. Junior Kelly - 9 To 5
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

French reggae dancehall label Bakchich Records have unleashed the next installment in their "Bakchich" compilation series. Although not exactly keeping pace with the latest boom tunes and hottest riddims in dancehall business, this 12th volume features enough big names, entertaining tunes and hit riddims to satisfy any dancehall fan.
Mr. Lex aka Lexxus kicks off the set and delivers a solid piece with the Richard "Shams" Browne produced "Full Hundred", actually the artists' #1 single on the hard-hitting "Orgasm" riddim. Also Red Rat contributes an effort well worth hearing. For "Hardcore" he expertly rides another Richard Browne produced riddim, the infectious "Juice". Singing Prince is featured twice on this set, first in combination with Gabriel and then forming a duo with Danny English. Both tunes, the excellent "From The Ghetto" and decent "Hot Ladies", were previously released as 7" single on W. Whittaker's "Street Life" label and are versions across the "Fava" (aka "Fiesta") riddim. From France comes Tiwony who deliver their French lyrics across Richard Browne's "Juice" riddim. Youngblood's militaristic "Eight Ball" riddim underpins T.O.K. awesome "Same Team", while veteran Flourgon contributes a nice tune on Bulby & Fatta's jump up "Mento" riddim. Uman, a potent singjay with a sharp, conscious lyrical stance, is definitely a name the French dancehall massive should keep an eye on in the near future. His wicked "L'habit Ne Fait Le Moins" - produced by renown Mafia & Fluxy and So So Calvin - provides a good impression of Uman's vocal and lyrical abilities (although the latter requires knowledge of the French tongue). Copper Cat's "Bend The Tree" on Pot Of Gold's "Acid Rock" riddim is one of the standout tracks on this album. The same riddim track is utilized by T.O.K., whose "Ready Anytime" is a matching cut. The "Eight Ball" riddim returns with Elephant Man's awesome "Draw We Out", another standout effort on this set's tracklist. The same goes for Jah Mason, who powerfully rides the "Gremlin" riddim for Jimmy Riley's "Love Promotions". His "Up Deh" makes a serious impression and can be heard over and over again. Bounty Killa and Junior Kelly, both riding the same Christopher Birch produced riddim, round off "Bakchich Vol. 12" in fine style, with Junior Kelly's "9 To 5" being the slightly better effort.

Teacher & Mr. T.