Various artists album review
Riddim Driven Vol. 1 ~ Chiney Gal & Blazing
VP Records - Walboomers Music
10 - 02 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Cecile - Changes
  2. Elephant Man - New Application
  3. Mr. Vegas - Pretty Dunce
  4. Sizzla - Give It To Dem
  5. Tanya Stephens - Wok Dat
  6. Madd Anju & Kiprich - We Ah Friend
  7. Beenie Man - Counteract
  8. Capleton - Blaze Up Di Fire
  9. Sizzla - Nah Hear
  10. Junior Kelly - Can't Run
  11. Elephant Man - Hafi Bun
  12. Major Christie - Where I Wanna Be
  13. Moses I & Capleton - Never Get Down
  14. Jah Mason - Better Be True
  15. Harry Toddler - Hey Lady
  16. Military Man - Scandal
  17. Delly Ranks - Roll On
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

VP Records has launched a new dancehall oriented series of two-riddim compilation sets entitled "Riddim Driven", containing the hottest versions running in the dancehalls of Jamaica. The first instalment in the series is a wicked set shared between Cecile Charlton's X Clamation! production "Chiney Gal" (aka "Front Row") riddim and Norman "Bullpuss" Bryan's ferocious Kickin production "Blazing". The first seven pieces on this CD are over the haunting "Chiney Gal" riddim featuring Cecile's very popular "Changes", which is currently riding the top of the Jamaican charts. Every cut for the riddim is a winner, no weak tune to be found. Standout efforts are Elephant Man's "New Application", Sizzla's rougher than rough "Give It To Dem" and Beenie Man's awesome piece "Counteract".
The mood changes completely when the tear-up "Blazing" riddim is loaded. This up-tempo riddim, laid by Christopher Birch and Paul Kastick, features excellent efforts from Sizzla and Capleton, the latter appearing by himself on "Blaze Up De Fire" and in the company of Moses I on "Never Get Down" (aka "People Of The World"). The next outstanding piece comes from Junior Kelly who performs his "Can't Run" in fine style. Also enjoyable efforts are Elephant Man's "Hafi Bun", Major Christie's "Where I Wanna Be" and Military Man's "Scandal". If you're interested in contemporary dancehall this collection of hot tunes is good value for money!

Teacher & Mr. T.