The Clutch Riddim
Truckback Records
December 25, 2008

Buju Banton - The Clutch Riddim Track list
  1. Capleton - Gimmi Di Ting
  2. Buju Banton - Regular Ting
  3. Spragga Benz - Inna De Club
  4. Junior Cat feat. Weekend Murj - Star Time
  5. New Kidz - Trash And Bruk
  6. Monster Hemp Higher - Do Tings
  7. Harry Toddler & Mr. Easy - Players Haters
  8. Hollow Point - Don't Panic
  9. T.O.K. - All Night Raving
  10. Delly Ranx - Don't Trust Dem
  11. Blacka Dan - A Di Moment
  12. Anarchie - Bees
  13. Briggadistas - Law Not Order
  14. Shaka Pow & Heather Cummings - Nice Time
  15. Mr. Chumps - When It Strike
  16. Truckback Records - Clutch Riddim
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 8-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 11
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
After having treated the avid dancehall fan to their breakthrough "Gearbox" riddim -- mainly popularized through its lead track "Click My Finger" by Erup, which had notable chart success worldwide and was nominated for 2007 'Riddim of the Year' by Jamaica's Reggae Academy -- and then "Ole Axle", Truckback Records have unleashed the next riddim that is named after truck parts, "The Clutch". Written by Steve Locke, Adrian Locke and Ernie Wilks, this brand new jump up dancehall beat is another sure boomshot from the Kingston-based label that bursted on the scene in 2007.

Established dancehall artists like Buju Banton, Capleton, Delly Ranx, Spragga Benz, and T.O.K. as well as up-and-comers New Kidz, Hollow Point, and Blacka Dan have gathered to breathe life into the energetic riddim. Some of them have thrown in their very best and have succeeded in creating a sure-fire hit. Without a doubt this goes for Buju Banton, whose "Regular Ting" -- actually his first appearance on a Truckback riddim -- proves to be a real big tune and thus easily qualifies as a lead-off tune. Capleton's "Gimmi Di Ting" is an equally explosive cut across this incendiary riddim, while "Player Haters" by Harry Toddler & Mr Easy, T.O.K.'s party song "All Night Raving", and "Don't Trust Dem" by Delly Ranx are also quite good. Other worthwhile efforts are Hollow Point's "Don't Panic", New Kidz's "Trash And Bruk" and "Do Tings" by the trio Roundhead, Ghost and General B that calls themselves Monster Hemp Higher. Furthermore this juggling selection includes the wicked combination tune "Star Time" by Junior Cat & Weekend Murj, and Spragga Benz's enjoyable "A Di Moment" by Blacka Dan.

Fans of dancehall music and dancing will be delighted with this 'one riddim' set.