Juke Boxx
May 19, 2006

Track list
  1. Intro - DJ Sunshine
  2. Gash Dem - Chuck Fenda
  3. Living Without You - Morgan Heritage
  4. Live It Up - T.O.K.
  5. Weak Heart - Sizzla
  6. Good Men - Lady Saw
  7. Tell Me - Kiprich
  8. Tired Of Playing Games - Rayvon
  9. Let It Go Girl - Tanya Stephens
  10. Get Out There - Junior Kelly
  11. Jah Time - Fantan Mojah
  12. The Calling - Delicious
  13. Lonely - Richie Spice
  14. Lose Dem Head - Anthony Cruz
  15. Walk And Downs - Natural Black
  16. Like Paradise - Spanner Banner
  17. Ups And Downs - Ky-Enie
  18. Don't Go - Chris Martin
  19. Call Me - M'Lonie
  20. Imagination - Sista Irie
  21. Corruption - Floyd West
  22. Change Your Mind - Teflon
  23. Live It Up (Acoustic Remix) - T.O.K.
    Bonus Feature
  24. Gash Dem (Video) - Chuck Fenda
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 2/3 Sleeve : 4
Jamaican producers seem to be trend driven most of the time, and not only has nearly every producer by now been tempted to try his hands at producing a retro-riddim, but also at producing a one-drop riddim. And the great thing is, that many of the top hardcore dancehall producers seem to have a golden touch when it comes to one-drop as well. Everybody knows Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett's very successful 'Drop Leaf', 'Seasons' and 'Heavenly' riddims, and Byron Murray's 'Street Swing' and Wayne 'Purple Skunk' Morris' soon to be reviewed 'Tropical' and 'Istanbul' riddims were very impressive as well. Now Big Yard engineer Shane Brown (the son of legendary Treasure Isle engineer Errol Brown), who was responsible for the 'Klymaxx' on his Juke Boxx label, and for the mixing done on almost every Christopher 'Longman' Birch riddim that was released in the last couple of years, has also shifted his attention to one-drop, and this 'Confessions'-riddim for his own Juke Boxx, written together with H. Hibbert, and laid together with H. Hibbert, Robert Browne and the aforementioned Christopher 'Longman' Birch, is a giant leap in the direction of becoming a well established one-drop producer as well. Following DJ Sunshine's "Intro" recommending this ultimelate one-drop compilation is Chuck Fender's chartbusting scorcher on the riddim, the non-compromising "Gash Dem", followed by Morgan Heritage's beautiful "Living Without You" and T.O.K. - once more excelling over a one-drop - with their upful "Live It Up". Sizzla is in his melodic mood for the excellent "Weak Heart" and Lady Saw is in fine form as her "Good Men" are hard to find, so i'm protecting what is mine clearly proves. Kiprich is doubting if his girl is still loving him in his fine "Tell Me", Rayvon is on the wrong receiving end in his love life as well, judging by his "Tired Of Playing Games" before Tanya Stephens is giving advice in the same direction in "Let It Go Girl". Junior Kelly delivers one of his finest tunes to date with "Get Out There" followed by Fantan Mojah's equally strong "Jah Time" and the sexy voiced female Shane Brown protégé Delicious with her plea to leave her alone, and quit calling her phone in "Stop The Calling". Richie Spice shines on the sweet "Lonely" before Anthony Cruz - still better known for his lovers tunes - delivers the superb reality tune "Lose Dem Head" and Natural Black's fine "Walk And Sleep". Richie Spice's brother Spanner Banner (and of course brother of Pliers) sings the loving tribute to his girl "Like Paradise" followed by Ky-Enie, who has been exclusively recording the few tunes he did for Big Yard, singjays his life is full of "Ups And Downs" in commanding fashion, followed by a newcoming male singer - make that a boy -, the sweet voiced Chris Martin asking his girl "Don't Go". M'Lonie seemed after a couple of fine releases in early 2005 to have disappeared, but appeared again early this year and now continues where she left off in terms of delivery, but left the slackness out this time in her "Call Me Anytime". And then another very impressive debut, the sweet voiced female singer Syster Irie contributing "Imagination". Floyd West is a melodic singjay making his debut delivering his view on the "Corruption" that's everywhere in a convincing way, before Teflon questions "Why Change Your Mind" and T.O.K. deliver the last vocal on the album with their "Live It Up (Acoustic Remix)" taking the emphasis on their vocal delivery even one step higher over an acoustic guitar strumming. The harsh video of "Gash Dem" closes this excellent set of tunes, with Shane Brown once more proving that hardcore dancehall producers can be excellent one-riddim producers once they shift their attention.