Various artists album review
Bunny Striker Lee The Cool Operator
Smugg Records
June 15 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Johnny Clarke – Move Out Of Babylon
  2. Max Romeo - Natty Dread Take Over
  3. Pat Kelly – How Long
  4. Lee Scratch Perry - Run For Cover
  5. Jackie Edwards – Im Still Waiting
  6. Horace Andy - Angel
  7. Gregory Isaacs – Don’t Believe In Him
  8. Delroy Wilson – Cool Operator
  9. The Mighty Diamonds - Should Be Grateful
  10. Cornell Campbell - The Gorgon
  11. U Roy - Gorgon Wise
  12. Johnny Clarke – No Woman No Cry
  13. Derrick Morgan - Some Women Must Cry
  14. I Roy – Straight To Prince Jazzbo Head
  15. Slim Smith – Let Me Go Girl
  16. Tappa Zukie – Natty Dread No Cry
  17. Dillinger – Dub Scrub Them
  18. Prince Jazzbo – Straight To I Roy Head
  19. Bob Marley & The Wailers – Mr Chatterbox
  20. Dennis Alcapone – I Wont Tell You Goodbye
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

The long anticipated Smugg Records release "Bunny Striker Lee The Cool Operator" has finally arrived on our desk and we have to say that the 20 tracks offered here are a nearby perfect cross-section of the production outings of Bunny 'Striker' Lee. He was at his best during the seventies and this album highlights his work with artists such as Delroy Wilson, Gregory Isaacs, Cornell Campbell, I-Roy, Prince Jazzbo, Lee Scratch Perry and Bob Marley. The track -Mr.Chatterbox provided by The Wailers however dates from the late sixties. The tune includes the voice of Bunny Lee at the top. Jackie Edwards cover of The Wailers' I'm Still Waiting sounds as if it was recorded in the early eighties. Most tracks here are well known tracks, although we had never heard Natty Dread Take Over, the Max Romeo version of Johnny Clarke's Move Outta Babylon. Dillinger's Dub Scrub Them rides the same riddim. The same goes for awesome The Mighty Diamonds tune Should Be Grateful, a gem we discovered on this album. The Gregory Isaacs tune Don't Believe In Him has to be one of the most heartfelt outings from the Cool Ruler! Cornell Campbell's haunting The Gorgon is followed by the U Roy deejay version called Gorgon Wise. Next come two songs versioning Bob Marley's 'No Woman No Cry'. First there's the straight Johnny Clarke vocal cut followed by the hilarious Derrick Morgan song Some Woman Must Cry. A third version here is the Tappa Zukie deejay cut Natty Dread Don't Cry. The fued between I Roy and Prince Jazzbo can be witnessed here, check out I Roy's Straight to Jazzbo Head and Prince Jazzbo's furious answer Straight To I-Roy Head which comes across the 'Love I Can Feel' riddim.
The enhanced cd also contains a ten minute QuickTime Movie showing an interview with Bunny. He talks about the days when he worked with the great King Tubby, Dennis Brown, U Roy and I Roy, Slim Smith and Delroy Wilson. It includes music and pictures of artists fleeting in and out while Bunny talks. Furthermore you will find a Smugg Records Screensaver (requires Windows '98 or higher) that you may install on your PC. This screensaver lets you choose a playlist of previews of up to six Smugg Records releases.
Great compilation and some real nice goodies included as well!

Teacher & Mr. T.