Riddim Driven ~ Cry Baby
VP Records
August 9, 2005

Track list
  1. Thanks & Praise - Sizzla
  2. Still The Same - Morgan Heritage
  3. All By Myself - Buju Banton
  4. Playing Games - Voice Mail
  5. Journey - T.O.K.
  6. As Far - Elephant Man
  7. God Nah Sleep - Assassin
  8. My Cry - Shaggy
  9. Wrong Conclusion - Rik Rok
  10. Woman I Love - Anthony Cruz
  11. More Love - Singing Melody
  12. I Do - Junior Kelly
  13. Cry No More - Keishera
  14. Cry Baby - Christopher Birch
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
As lacklustre as the riddim laid by Christopher Birch together with Ward 21's Andre 'Suku' Gray for Byron Murray's In The Streetz 'Bounce' might sound, as strong is his Big Yard's musical backbone Christopher 'Longman' Birch returning here for his own Birchill Music imprint, for the in VP Records' Riddim Driven series released 'Cry Baby'-riddim. A beautiful roots riddim (following the excellent one drop of the 'My Baby' a.k.a. 'Telephone Ting'-riddim) on Big Yard, this string-embellished scorcher. Excellence from Sizzla in "Thanks & Praise" to the creator and Morgan Heritage in their popular "Still The Same" as well as from Buju Banton who impresses with "All By Myself". Voicemail excel in the lovers tune "Playing Games" as well as T.O.K. in the upful "Journey". Elephant Man delivers one of the best tunes on the riddim with his conscious call for an end to violence that is completely stripped of vocal gimmickry "As Far" as my eyes can see. More convincing consciousness from Assassin in "God Nah Sleep" and Shaggy's "My Cry" followed by a beautiful warning to his girl not to jump to the "Wrong Conclusion" by Rik Rok, who is outperformed by Anthony Cruz contributing the absolute killer tune on this riddim "Woman I Love". Three more above par tunes follow, Singing Melody's "More Love", Junior Kelly's well sung "I Do" and newcomer Keishera's heartfelt "Cry No More", before Christopher Birch wicked riddim "Cry Baby" is heard in its excellent clean version. This is a must have. Brilliant set of tunes on an excellent one drop riddim.