Various artists album review
Culture Center Part 2
Penthouse-Germain Records
30 - 01 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Buju Banton - Till I'm laid to rest (remix)
  2. Beres Hammond & Marcia Griffiths - Watch out for that
  3. Michael Rose - General Penitentiary
  4. John Holt - Judgement day
  5. Marcia Grifiths & Lady G. - Woman
  6. Jah Mali - Reuben
  7. Richie Stephens - Life in the ghetto
  8. Buju Banton - Politics time (remix)
  9. Capleton - Prophet
  10. Cobra - Fear no evil
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Throughout the '90s the Germain aka Penthouse label has released some of the best reggae and dancehall outings, thus becoming a synonym for quality music. With this great and wicked compilation album full of quality new material Penthouse adds another gem to its vaults, thus bigging up their name further. You get hit from all angles on this album. First of all there are the strong and appealing riddims, dominated by the heavy rolling bass line, trademark of Donovan Germain's production work. Then the singers: young and talented Jah Mali makes a solid showing among veterans like Richie Stephens and John Holt (what an excellent performance he delivers !). And last but not least the deejays, with two of Buju Banton's hits remixed onto different reggae riddims and decent conscious cuts from Capleton and Cobra. Even within the solid album two cuts stand out, "Watch out for that" the combination song with Beres Hammond & Marcia Griffiths and the remix of Buju Banton's killer tune "Politics time".
Note: the CD contains three bonus tracks from DeVonte, Tony Rebel and Alley Cat.

Teacher & Mr. T.