Cuss Fix Riddim
Upsetta Sound
Digital Release
February 26, 2009

Track list
  1. Admiral Tibet - If Me Never Run
  2. Purity - Learn A Lot
  3. Ras Q - Rastafari Way
  4. Zico feat. Greta Frost - Like Rain
  5. Kyah Omega - Mix Up
  6. Greta Frost - Know Better
  7. Ras Iba - Dredda
  8. Potenkle I - Injustice
  9. Smoke & Aqua - Dead Weight (Raw)
  10. Smoke & Aqua - Dead Weight (Radio Edit)
  11. DayInJah - Love Song
  12. Shalli - Shalli Sings (Raw)
  13. Shalli - Shalli Sings (Radio Edit)
  14. Universal Speakers - Cool Now
  15. Determine - I Had A Dream (Come To Pass Remix)
  16. Zico & Greta Frost - Dub Like Rain
  17. Cuss Fix Riddim Version
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 14-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 5-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 19
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
From being a sound system to running an own record label goes back to the early days of Jamaica's musical history when then ruling sound system owners Coxsone Dodd and Duke Reid turned to record production. In more recent times sound systems such as Pow Pow Movement, King Shiloh, Jah Tubbys, Stone Love Movement, Irie Ites and Sound Quake to name six, have followed the same path and launched their own record label. One of the latest labels founded by a sound system is Upsetta Sound which is run by Dante DaVinci (aka J2), Selector Dubee, Eastcoast and Mason from Upsetta International Sound System, currently based in Burlington, Vermont. They are affiliated with Jakk Stereo Recording Studio in Portmore St. Catherine JA, which is operated and managed by dancehall pioneer, Dignitary Stylish.

Upssetta Sound's first (digital) album release is a very nice 'one-riddim' set featuring 15 vocal cuts, a dub piece and the clean version of the "Cuss Fix" riddim. It's actually a reworking of Lloyd Robinson's classic "Cuss Cuss" riddim from 1969, without doubt one of the most versioned riddims ever. This brand new reworking is slightly reminiscent of the extremly heavyveight version that Massive B outa Brooklyn NY released in 1997.

Admiral Tibet, Determine and Ras Iba are the only artists featured here whose names are internationally known, the rest of the line-up are "yet to be heard" artists. It's praiseworthy to give newcomers a chance to showcase their skill and talent, but it's also risky as people are always looking for releases of well-known artists. Thus a good riddim like the "Cuss Fix" could not get the attention it deserves. Anyway, those to watch for in the near future are Zico, Potenkle I, Universal Speakers, and the very talented Shalli (pronounced Sha Lee).

The lead track for this riddim has to be Admiral Tibet's "If Me Never Run", killer tune from a great but underrated artist. The veteran dancehall singer is in real good shape and has a nice flow on the riddim. The next big tune is "Like Rain" from Zico feat. Greta Frost. Zico is a singer with an appealing voice, a style of his own and reality lyrics that keep you involved. "Mix Up" by singjay Kyah Omega is a decent effort with in the chorus lyrics that refer to Horace Andy's "Cuss Cuss". Potenkle I has a distinctive vocal tone which works well on the riddim, making "Injustice" a solid effort worth of hearing. Despite the annoying partly autotuned vocals, "Shalli Sings" by Shalli is an enjoyable tune with hit potential.

All in all this "Cuss Fix Riddim" set is a much promising start for the Upsetta Sound label.