Dancing Machine Riddim
Evidence Music
Digital Release
October 14, 2013

Track list
  1. Wayne Smith - The Sound
  2. Wayne Smith - Dancing Machine
  3. Skarra Mucci - Confusion
  4. Triba - Killing Machine
  5. Brother Culture - Life
  6. Spectacular - Hangling
  7. Mikey General - Stop Pressure The People
  8. Echo Minott - Icons
  9. Nello B - Set Up Vibes
  10. Douvilous - The Youth
  11. Ras P feat. Shelly P - Tell Me If You Love Me
  12. Sille feat. Smiley - Kaleidoskop
  13. Little Lion Sound - Dub Mix
  14. Little Lion Sound - Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
In January 2013 Little Lion Sound in collaboration with Derrick Sound - both residing in Geneva, Switzerland - founded their own record label called Evidence Music, on which they released their first dancehall juggling, the "Hatafayabun" riddim, in February 2013. The "Hatafayabun" was voiced by top artists Sizzla and Capleton, while also some upcoming artists such as Douvilous, Montari, Newton and Mihai, were given the opportunity to show their skills and talent. About half a year later they've put out their second 'one riddim' set, the "Dancing Machine Riddim", for which the crew of Little Lion Sound collaborated with Weedy G from Männedorf near the lake of Zürich, Switzerland.

The "Dancing Machine Riddim" is an updated version of Wayne Smith's digikiller "Dancing Machine", produced by G. Robinson and released on 12" vinyl by Tasha Records - in the UK released on Tonos Records in July 1985, with A.C. Connell credited as the producer. However, Wayne Smith's crucial riddim actually is a jazzed up version of Midnight Riders' "Youthman Invasion", which was engineered by Peter Chemist at Channel One studios and is featured on a 1985 released LP titled "Tonos All Star Collection". None other than Wayne Smith himself, whose massive hit "Under Mi Sleng Teng" completely turned Jamaica's popular music around in 1985, has been granted the honour to open this set with two cuts across the uptempo rub a dub riddim. In the real nice opening track, "The Sound", he pays respect to everyone involved in the Sound System culture, while "Dancing Machine" is a decent do-over of his original tune.

The lyric millionaire, Jamaican born artist Skarra Mucci, delivers a powerful tune, one of the best cuts included here. Triba - a young artist, and MC of Lyrical Youth Sound - comes up with a 'soundbwoy' tune called "Killing Machine". The latter isn't a real killer, but the addition of the instantly ear-catching horns part of Mikey Dread's "Jungle Signal" makes this one worth hearing. Also check Little Lion Sound's wicked "Dub Mix", which includes the horns as well. Although "Life" by UK veteran MC Brother Culture is a nice effort to hear, it's outmatched by Spectacular's "Hangling" and also Mikey General's message tune "Stop Pressure The People". Echo Minott's"Icons" deals with a bit of reggae history, in particular that of this artist. Unfortunately it doesn't have that much lyrics, so it gets a bit boring in the end. Then it's time for the lesser known artists to step forward. In particular Douvilous, an upcoming artist from Gambia, makes a good impression, while "Kaleidoskop" by Swiss artist Sille and Smiley, a Dutch singer who hails from Aruba in the Caribbean, draws some attention due to Sille delivering his lyrics in his native language.

If you don't dance to the uptempo rub-a-dub of the "Dancing Machine Riddim", you don't dance!!