Deal me In Riddim
Rebel Sound Records
Digital Release
January 26, 2016

Track list
  1. Josey Wales - What's It Gonna Take
  2. Sasha - Hold A Vibes
  3. Foxy Brown - Good Love
  4. Edi Fitzroy - Love You Baby
  5. Triston Palma - Deal Me In
  6. Carl Dawkins - Hot Water
  7. Glen Ricks - Hold On
  8. Fiona - I Don't Wanna Wait
  9. Chelly Jane - You Should Be Mine
  10. Diamond - Found Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Produced by veteran singer Triston Palma, who also delivers the title track of this riddim project in real fine style, "Deal Me In" is a sweet and rootsy backdrop with a rub-a-dub feel to it, that underpins lovers tunes from reggae veterans like "The Colonel" Josey Wales, Glen Ricks and Carl Dawkins as sell as newcomers such as Chelly Jane and Diamond.

Always enjoyed listening to tunes delivered by Jamaican sound system legend Josey Wales, so it's a real pleasure to find out that his contribution to this set, "What's It Gonna Take", is one of the standouts. Born in Kingston, Jamaica, and raised in Brooklyn NY, Karen Chin aka Sasha scored her biggest hit with "I'm Still In Love with You", done in collaboration with Sean Paul. Her cut, "Hold A Vibes", is nice to hear, but in the end doesn't make a real good impression. All in all a rather mediocre effort. And although Foxy Brown delivers a much better tune, "Good Love" doesn't create real excitement. Former Mikey Dread protégé Edi Fitzroy, in the '80s dubbed Jamaica's most socially conscious singer, treats the listener to the solid "Love You Baby", while Triston Palma comes up with the above par title track. Carl Dawkins, an impeccable singer and performer of the old skool, presents the beautiful "Hot Water". And also Glen Ricks (also known as Glen Ricketts), who recorded soul and reggae albums in Jamaica, England, and Canada, makes a decent impression with "Hold On". The last part of the album is reserved for the ladies of which Fiona and Diamond, with "I Don't Wanna Wait" and "Found Love" respectively, contribute noteworthy efforts.

Even though this compilation set has only a few winners, it's nice to play it when you're in a romantic mood.