Various artists album review
Dancehall 101 Vol. 2
VP Records-Walboomers Music
2 CD

Tracking list - Disc 1

  1. Johnny Osbourne - No Ice Cream Sound
  2. Super Beagle - Dust Out A Sound Bwoy
  3. Sister Nancy - Bam Bam
  4. Super Cat - Boops
  5. Pinchers - Bandelero
  6. Shelly Thunder - Kuff
  7. Wayne Wonder - Saddest Day
  8. Courtney Melody - Modern Girl
  9. Foxy Brown - Sorry
  10. Sanchez - Loneliness
  11. Cutty Ranks & Beres Hammond - Love Mi Haffi Get
  12. Tony Rebel - Fresh Vegetable
  13. Shabba Ranks - Love Punnany Bad
  14. Alton Black & Blacka Ranks - A Gal A Just Watch You
  15. Shabba Ranks - Wicked inna Bed
  16. Ninja Man - Murder Dem
  17. El General - Pun Tun Tun
Tracking list - Disc 2
  1. Road International - Bonus DJ Mix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

VP Records comes with the second instalment in their new series of compilation albums entitled "Dancehall 101". Every set contains a collection of Dancehall club classics featuring hit singles from the eighties and nineties. The track listings for the "Dancehall 101" series have been compiled by scrutinizing the most popular singles played by Dancehall, Hip-Hop/R&B,and Spanish club & radio DJ's. Each "Dancehall 101" volume features 17 tracks of the singles that every 18-35 year old reggae/dancehall fan probably knows and loves but before now could not find in one place. Many of these singles will also be available on VP Records' "Dancehall Classics" series as limited edition 12" re-issues.
This set opens with a nice, so-called "soundbwoy" tune by Johnny Osbourne is followed by two very enjoyable cuts over the "Stalag" riddim, one of the most anticipated riddims in the history of reggae/dancehall music. Super Cat's big smash from 1986, "Boops", is still a joy to listen to. The same goes for King Jammy's produced "Bandelero", which brought Pinchers chart success in 1991. After Shelly Thunder has delivered "Kuff". the listener is treated to the more melodic tunes that made a serious impact in the dancehalls with Wayne Wonder's "Saddest Day", Foxy Brown's "Sorry" and the wicked combination song "Love Mi Haffi Get" Beres Hammond & Cutty Ranks being the standouts. Among the remaining tracks one will find solid deliveries from Shabba Ranks and Ninjaman.
"Dancehall 101 vol. 2" includes a bonus dj mix CD by New York city's "Road International".

Teacher & Mr. T.