Various artists album review
Dancehall Crazy
Jamdown Records

Tracking list

  1. Don Yute & R. Elliott - Intro
  2. Don Yute - Dancehall Crazy
  3. Frisco Kid - Run Dun Things
  4. Spragga Benz - Sick Bad
  5. Bad Greg Hines - Brand New Cassette
  6. Young Prince - Interlude
  7. Young Prince - What A Day
  8. Degree - Poor Soul
  9. Crissy D - Don't Make Me Know
  10. Young Prince & Real T - Jamdown Rock
  11. Real T - He's High
  12. Devonte - Sweet Honey
  13. Don Yute - Dancehall Crazy (Remix)
  14. Various - MegaMix (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

The adaption of riddims which (the artist formerly known as) Prince utilized for some of his greatest hits to date seems to become a new trend in dancehall music. After "1999" - Salaam Remi and his Hot Ice Crew's wicked dancehall version of Prince's eighties classic pophit - artist/producer Jason Andrew Williams aka Don Yute has reworked the riddim of another great hitsong delivered by Prince entitled "Let's Go Crazy". Twelve versions across this speedy riddim are collected on this "one riddim" album, which furthermore includes an interlude by newcomer Young Prince and a MegaMix (bonus track). Although the tracklisting doesn't include an extended list of namebrand dancehall artists there's enough talent to make this a nice and enjoyable album for avid dancehall fans. Best versions are delivered by Don Yute, Bad Greg Hines and "the master of riddim" Degree.

Teacher & Mr. T.