Various artists album review
Dancehall Hits 2001
Jamdown Records

Tracking list

  1. Mark Ice - Ride With Me
  2. Nadz & Dami - Look Back Ina Di Days
  3. Bling Dawg - Good Girl
  4. Lexxus - Independant Lady
  5. Harry Toddler - Modeling
  6. Delly Ranks - Gimmie Di Weed
  7. Elephant Man - Yuh Want War
  8. Bling Dawg - Sey Dem Bad
  9. Wayne Marshall - Weed Smoke
  10. Frisco Kid - Run For It
  11. Elephant Man - Gal Under Tears
  12. Alozade - No Allies
  13. Ward 21 - Kryptonite
  14. Maddish & Psycho - F@#k You
  15. Nitty Kutchie - Don't Give It Up
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

The wicked Jamdown Records "Dancehall Hits" series continues to bring a fair amount of excitement on the third installment entitled "Dancehall Hits 2001". Featured are some of the finest dancehall tracks and riddims from the following producers: Tarik Thompson (Gravi-T Productions), Garfield Hamilton & Troy McLean (First Name Music), Chester Walker (Elements Of Surprise One), Edward Murray (KT Productions), Arif Cooper (Fresh Ear Productions) and, of course, the Jamdown crew (Jamdown Productions). The set starts and ends with two very entertaining cuts across the captivating and danceable "Anaconda"riddim, courtesy of the Jamdown production team. Every piece has its own merits, however it's Mark Ice's "Ride With Me" and also "Don't Give It Up" from the very talented Nitty Kutchie that belong to our favourite tunes. The next riddim brings us Ricky Rudie aka Bling Dawg's "Good Girl" and Lexxus' "Independent Lady", the latter being the slightly better effort. New backdrop and a new tune by Harry Toddler, who delivers a nice tune - "Modelling" - in his by now well-known singjay stylee. Then Delly Ranks, Elephant Man and Ricky Rudie aka Bling Dawg, all riding the "Black Ice" riddim to full effect. Three very enjoyable, solid pieces across a hard hitting dancehall riddim. Wayne Marshall's r&b flavored "Weed Smoke" is a decent effort, which is followed by Frisco Kid's solid "Run For It". The same goes for Elephant Man's "Gal Under Tears" and Alozade's awesome "No Allies", both like Ward 21's "Kryptonite" voiced over the same riddim track.
A fine collection of contemporary Dancehall music, well worth checking out!!

Teacher & Mr. T.