Various artists album review
Penthouse Dancehall Hits Vol. 12
Penthouse-Walboomers Music
16 - 07 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Buju Banton - Soft Love
  2. Buju Banton - Sweetie Pie
  3. Marcia Griffiths - You've Lost That Loving Feeling
  4. Marcia Griffiths - Better Must Come
  5. DaVille - Maria
  6. Assassin - Pon The Ends
  7. Zumjay - Fools
  8. DaVille - Go Now
  9. Demo Delgado - Never Stop Cry
  10. Jahmel - J.R.E.A.M.
  11. Jahmel - No Love In Their Hearts
  12. Lenky - Speak Softly
  13. Goofy & Heather Cummings - Yard Man
  14. DaVille - Tonight
  15. Assassin - Friend And Company
  16. Zumjay feat. Marcia Griffiths - We Want Peace
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Although the title suggests that this compilation album contains strictly Dancehall music one is treated to a variety of dancehall reggae styles. Of course, this latest Penthouse compilation set features some Dancehall cuts, but also included are modern roots songs, sing-a-long cover tunes and latin flavored pieces.
"Dancehall Hits 12" collects tunes from Donovan Germain's "Penthouse" and "WWW.GERMAINMUSIC.COM" imprints, many of them previously released on 45. Two of Buju Banton's big recent pieces "Soft Love" and "Sweetie Pie" kick off the set with the latter being the better effort. Then Marcia Griffiths contributes two nice renditions in her well known style. First she does a nice version of the Righteous Brothers' pop hit "You've Lost That Loving Feeling" and then one is treated to a bubbling version of Delroy Wilson's classic "Better Must Come". The latin flavored Maria is the first out of three contributions from singer Daville, an infectious tune with crossover potential. He also displays his fine vocal talents on the excellent "Tonight" and "Go Now", the latter delivered over a killer backdrop which is also utilized for Demo Delgado's "Never Stop Cry" and Jahmel's wonderful "No Love In Their Hearts". Before that Jahmel - who got a rave review in Ray Hurford's "Small Axe" when his debut album "Watchful Eyes" appeared in 1983 - delivers another solid rootical cut entitled "J.R.E.A.M" (meaning "Jah Rules Everything Around Me"). Since he teamed up with Donovan Germain he's getting some more exposure and regarding the singles that have been released so far his forthcoming album will definitely cause a stir among modern roots fans. Lenky's "Speak Softly" riddim is featured here in its original version, and although Assassin's "Pon The Ends" and Goofy & Heather Cummings' "Yard Man Anthem" are decent cuts for the riddim, Lenky's "Speak Softly" is the weakest track on this compilation set. Assassin's "Friend And Company" is a solid effort from this up-and-coming young deejay, delivered over Richard "Shams" Browne's "It's Allright" riddim. Remain two decent pieces from Zumjay, who can be heard on the ragga flavored "Fools" and - with Marcia Griffiths - on "We Want Peace", the answer version to Buju Banton's "Homeless". Although "Dancehall Hits Vol. 12" isn't packed with the killer riddims one might expect from the Penthouse camp, this set contains enough quality tunes to make it well worth checking.

Teacher & Mr. T.