Various artists album review
Dance Hall Liberation
23 - 03 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Tony Rebel - Jah Call You
  2. Louie Culture - Dem A Dis
  3. Everton Blender - Kanta
  4. Richie Spice - Fire
  5. Prezident Brown - Preserving Life
  6. Anthony B - Give Me Some More
  7. Norris Man - Future Is A Head To Come
  8. Baby Wayne - Low Me Gwaan
  9. Josie Mel - Talk Talking
  10. Everton Blender - Loving You
  11. Papa San - Poor People Struggle
  12. Jah Mason - Mr. Compromise
  13. Yami Bolo - Black Liberation
  14. Everton Blender - Watch It
  15. Isha Blender - Bad Boys
  16. Currant Man - Rasta Nah Bow
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Dance Hall Liberation is a compilation of tunes produced by rootsman/singer Everton Blender for his own 'Blend Dem' label. The album opens with Tony Rebel's tune Jah Call You, the first tune on the album across the "Kanta' riddim. A total of 10 tunes across that same riddim are featured on the album. Consciousness, roots and culture, social themes and black liberation are the main themes of the songs on the album. Prezident Brown's and Anthony B's versions of the 'Kanta' riddim are two of the highlights of the album.
Newcomer Norris Man makes a solid impression with his tune Future Is Ahead To Come. The same goes for the -unknown- Josie Mel, who puts out a fine tune entitled Talk Talking. Singer/producer Everton Blender is featured 3 times here. Kanta and Watch It are two rootical tunes across the 'Kanta' riddim, whilst Loving You is a sweet lovers tune. Jah Mason's tune Mr. Compromise and Yami Bolo's Black Liberation are two excellent roots tunes.
Dance Hall Liberation is a solid selection of Everton Blender produced tunes, featuring upcoming as well as top dj's and singers.

Teacher & Mr. T.