Various artists album review
Dancehall Xplosion 2001
Jamdown Records

Tracking list

  1. HC, Baya, Liz - Intro
  2. General B - Jump
  3. Powerman - Animosity
  4. Junior Kelly - Lightening
  5. Elephant Man - Do As I Say
  6. Beenie Man - Done Have Mi Things
  7. Degree - Stamina
  8. Bounty Killer - Follow Mi Arrow
  9. Red Rat - Little Miss Buffet
  10. Mr. Vegas - Girls Time
  11. Hawkeye - Twingy Twang
  12. General B & Ghost - Loddy Doddy
  13. Capleton - Hush Up
  14. Elephant Man - Start It
  15. Beenie Man & Kirk Davis - Go Go
  16. Ce'Cile & Don Yute - Get It On
  17. Mr. Vegas - Mek Me Se Di Hand Dem (Sway)
  18. Ricky Rudy aka Bling Dawg - Cut And Go Through
  19. Spragga Benz - Player
  20. Bounty Killer - Water From My Eyes
  21. Danny English - Never Bow
  22. Tanto Metro & Devonte - What She Want
  23. Red Rat & Goofy - Fat Girl / Slim Girl
  24. Ricky Rudy aka Bling Dawg - Robbery
  25. Patchie - Gal A Get Bright
  26. Silver Cat - Hold Her Space (Simma)
  27. Elephant Man - Love Fi Bow Down
  28. Various Artists - MegaMix (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

In the past five years Jamdown Records have more than once proven that they know what it's all about when it comes to compiling the ultimate party album. Take fashionable dancehall artists and their slammin' hit tunes for the hottest riddims and present them "inna juggling stylee". These so-called "continuous megamix" albums have witnessed a growing popularity among dancehall devotees, similar to the mixed tapes in Hip-Hop.
"Dancehall Xplosion 2001" is mixed by Jazzy T and contains production work from some of the finest dancehall producers around including Edward Murray, Chad "Goofy" Simpson, Cardiff "Degree" Butt, Richard "Shams" Browne, Shane Richards, Marlon "Pyrana" Cooke, Chester Walker, Garfield Hamilton & Troy McLean as well as the Jamdown crew themselves. Among the riddims features on this set one finds the "Badness" riddim with solid efforts from General B and Powerman. However, it's rootsman Junior Kelly who surprisingly delivers the standout cut entitled "Lightening". Then nice contributions across the next riddim for Young Blood Productions from Elephant Man and Beenie Man before the mix continues into the "Arrow" riddim with fine pieces from Degree (also the producer of the riddim) and Bounty Killer. Richard "Shams" Browne stripped down "Orgasm" riddim is voiced by Red Rat and Mr. Vegas, the latter delivering the best effort. The "Ole Mon" riddim - courtesy of Shines Productions - drops in with Capleton delivering a noteworthy piece in his well known style. Halfway through we get big tunes from Elephant Man and the Davis brothers, Beenie Man & Kirk Davis, for the Marlon Cooke produced "Asthma" riddim. The combination Ce'Cile & Don Yute rides the infectious "Ananconda" riddim to full effect and the same goes for Mr. Vegas' exciting track "Mek Me Se Di Hand Dem (Sway)" and Ricky Rudy aka Bling Dawg's "Cut And Go Through". Chester Walker produced a mid-tempo, r&b flavoured riddim for "Elements Of Surprise One" featuring excellent tunes from Spragga Benz ("Player") and Bounty Killer ("Water From My Eyes"). The "Speed" riddim takes over with Danny English's "Never Bow" and especially Tanto Metro & Devonte's awesome "What She Want" being enjoyable and entertaining contributions. Two more Chad Simpson produced tunes are next before Patchie, Silver Cat and Elephant Man take their turn on the Jamdown produced "Da Groove" riddim. Three truly solid to excellent pieces round off the approx. 67 minutes lasting nonstop mix, before Jazzy T puts the icing on the cake with a brief megamix.
"Dancehall Xplosion 2001" is the perfect album to take your house party to the next level...'cause from the moment you cue up track 2 there's no more talking, but only dancing feet in full action. Trust us... the dancefloor will never be too visible!

Teacher & Mr. T.