Digital-B 80s Vol. 1
January 31, 2006

Track list
  1. Johnny Osbourne - Little Sound Boy
  2. Horace Andy - Bless You
  3. Shabba Ranks - Just Reality
  4. Leroy Gibbon - Mood For Love
  5. Admiral Tibett - Telling You This
  6. Clement Irie - Bun And Chesse
  7. Daddy Lizard - Naculator
  8. Johnny Osbourne - Dibby Dibby Sound
  9. Anthony Malvo & Tiger - Josephine
  10. Johnny Osbourne And Chaka Demu - Few Dollars More
  11. Red Dragon - Dibby Dibby Girl
  12. Admiral Tibett - Come Into The Light
  13. Sanchez & Flourgon - Loneliness
  14. Cocoa Tea - Love Me
  15. Pad Anthony - Shake Dem Down
  16. Shabba Ranks & Flourgon - Shock Out
  17. Pinchers - Crush
  18. Chaka Demus - No More
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Bobby "Digital" Dixon started Digital-B in 1988 after leaving Jammy's Studio. This cd showcases - along with vol. 2 - the beginning of his work as a producer and a record label owner. Nuff words are written about Bobby Digital - one of reggae's most famous producers and in fact still one of the reviewer's favourite.

The cd kicks off with a brilliant Johnny Osbourne tune named Little Sound Boy showing what's going on in the following 60 minutes: "Little Sound boy it's not your time to play, log off your sound boy and let the champion play". This and the following two tunes - Horace Andy's Bless You and Shabba's Just Reality are on the famous "Far East riddim" and believe you me - essential stuff. Also three tunes on the "Peenie Peenie" riddim (Clement Irie, Daddy Lizard, and Johnny Osbourne), a complete insane version of Fat Domino's Hello Josephine, and three tunes on the "Ba Ba Boom" riddim (Cocoa Tea, Pad Anthony, and Shabba). An as always brilliant Admiral Tibet rounds up this great compilation album.

Hits pon top a hits from the 80's from the legendary Bobby ‘Digital’ Dixon and his ‘Digital B’ label on this release. Highly recommended and in combination with the recently released King Jammy's sets (Bobby Digital as engineer!) a must have for your collection of early digital reggae music.