Digital-B 80s Vol. 2
January 31, 2006

Track list
  1. Bryan & Tony Gold - Sweet Baby
  2. Admiral Tibett - Too Much Jealousy
  3. Shabba Ranks - Mama Man
  4. Ken Boothe - You Are Not The Same
  5. Johnny Osbourne - Pretty Blue Eyes
  6. Mikey Melody - Falling In Love
  7. Cocoa Tea - Lonesome Side
  8. Shabba Ranks - Peenie Peenie
  9. Admiral Tibett - Be With Me Tonight
  10. Frankie Paul - Be With You Medley
  11. Pinchers - Oh Jah
  12. Shabba Ranks - Roots And Culture
  13. Cocoa Tea - Tell Me When
  14. Cocoa Tea & Johnny P - Tell Me When
  15. Admiral Tibett - Serious Time
  16. Red Dragon - Della Skank
  17. Johnny P - Rude Boy
  18. Little Twitch - Talking Twitch
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Bobby "Digital" Dixon started Digital-B in 1988 after leaving Jammy's Studio. This cd showcases - along with vol. 1 - the beginning of his work as a producer and a record label owner.

Essential stuff here again, but also be warned - included is Shabba's Mama Man, a tune dissing homosexuals and the reason for almost the end of the international career of Shabba. The reviewer is not interested to start this argument here again, but also thinks you should know what you get buying this tune. Another three brilliant tunes on the "Far East" riddim (Ken Boothe, Johnny Osbourne again, and Mikey Melody) are following. If you looked for the Shabba tune on the "Peenie Peenie" riddim - here it is alongside Cocoa Tea's Lonesome Side on this riddim. With Pinchers Oh Jah, Shabba's brilliant Roots and Culture, Admiral Tibet's killer Serious Times - to name just a few - this compilation offers nuff great music.

As mentioned in the review of the first volume - Hits pon top a hits from the 80’s from the legendary Bobby ‘Digital’ Dixon and his ‘Digital B’ label on this release. Highly recommended and in combination with the recently released King Jammy's sets (Bobby Digital as engineer!) a must have for your collection of early digital reggae music.