DJ Spooky In Fine Style: 50,000 Volts of Trojan Records
2 CD
July 9, 2006

Track list
Disc 1

  1. Winston Horseman Williams - Sweet Like Candy
  2. The Kingstonians - Nice Nice
  3. Desmond Dekker - 007 Shanty Town
  4. Dave Barker - Funky, Funky Reggae
  5. Dennis Alcapone - Shades Of Hudson
  6. B.B. Seaton - Summertime
  7. Lee "Scratch" Perry - Disco Devil
  8. Sly & Robbie - Jah Jah Man
  9. Augustus Pablo - Lama Lava
  10. Israelites - Come Together
  11. Ken Boothe - Old Fashion Way
  12. Bruce Ruffin - Rain
  13. U Roy - Your Ace Form Outer Space
  14. Tommy Mccook - Rooster
  15. Lloyd/Dice/Mum - Trial Of Pama Dice
  16. The Jamaicans - Ba Ba Boom
  17. Susan Cadogan - Fever
  18. Al Barry & The Cimarons - Morning Sun
Disc 2

  1. Winston Williams - DJs Choice
  2. Big Youth - Screaming Target
  3. Derrick Morgan - Great Musical Battle
  4. Val Bennett - Russians Are Coming
  5. The Upsetters - Popcorn
  6. The Shadows - Brother Noah
  7. Gregory Isaacs All Stars - Reform Institute
  8. The Blackbeard All Stars - Bridgeport Dub
  9. King Tubby - King Tubby's Explosion Dub
  10. U Roy - Dynamic Fashion Way
  11. Barrington Levy - Yah We Deh
  12. Peter Tosh - Here Comes The Judge
  13. Dillinger - Flat Foot Hustling
  14. Dave Barker - Hot Sauce
  15. Dandy Livingstone - Rudy A Message To You
  16. Special Beat - Rough Rider Live
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5
Trojan Records (think Sanctuary) continue with their mission to release their entire back catalogue, in different combinations, on different compilations -- which of course, means there is significant cross over of tunes on each release. This brand new 2 CD-set is part of Sanctuary's latest anthology ideas, namely letting a well-known DJ pick his favorite tracks from Trojan's extensive catalog.

This (currently U.S. only) release - nicknamed 'DJ Spooky Raids The Trojan Records Vaults, Creating His Ultimate Fantasy Club Playlist' - is compiled by DJ Spooky (a.k.a. Paul Miller a.k.a. That Subliminal Kid), the only DJ on the scene with degrees in philosophy and French literature! He has released numerous albums, books, and worked on film scores including the Cannes and Sundance Award winning film "Slam" and remixing the Metallica single "For Whom The Bell Tolls". Here he links his personal roots together with his inimitable taste in music by hand selecting 34 of his favorite tracks from the Trojan Records archives. This is what he says about this release : "This mix is a combination of the old, the new, and the in between. That's kind of the point: DJ culture in the 21st century is as much about the soundsystem as the playlist. I wanted to make a mix that reflected that: old and new."

The set is DJ Spooky's way of introducing the vintage reggae sounds he grew up on to the DJ, club and art worlds he spins in today, and includes recordings by reggae legends such as Lee Perry, John Holt, the late Desmond Dekker, Sly & Robbie, the late great Peter Tosh and Barrington Levy. Nuff instantly recognizable sounds here, but real nice to hear them once again! Here you won't find a wealth of new stuff, just plain old good reggae, DJ Spooky's style!

The release includes extended liner notos and some fine pics. Enjoy!