Various artists album review
The Dot.Com Rhythm
V1 Records - ReggaeCD.com
27 - 01 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - Log On Girls
  2. Spragga Benz, Assassin & Red Square - More Girls
  3. Sizzla - Girls Them Me Love
  4. Frisco Kid - Girls Sport
  5. Stevie Face & D'Bad Dawg - Something About You
  6. Delly Ranks - Girls Shocking Out
  7. Mega Banton - Another Hype
  8. Danny English - Go Gal
  9. Daddy Juice & Pinchy P - Can't Get We Money
  10. Moses I - Sunshine Princess
  11. 2 Kool & Dasta - Crime & Violence
  12. Nana McLean - Love In Your Heart
  13. Abijah - Healing Time
  14. U.T. Ras - Blazing
  15. Jah Thunder - Sweet Reggae
  16. Mega Mix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Up-and-coming young producer Vasco Carney of V1 Records from Jamaica emerged on the international reggae scene late 1999 / early 2000 with some nice production work, but actually first attracted notable attention in the summer of 2000 when he released the first cuts for the "Millenium Taxi" riddim, the Sly & Robbie's revitalized version of their own "Unmetered Taxi" (initially a Skatalite reading of the jazz classic "Peanut Vendor"). Now Vasco Carney returns with a brand new bashment selection for the "Dot.Com Rhythm", a wicked fresh reggae dancehall beat created by Computer Paul, Andrew Thomas & Lascelles Beckford.
From start to finish the listener is treated to a powerful package featuring such reggae dancehall stalwarts like Capleton, Sizzla, Frisco Kid and Mega Banton alongside such promising new names like Abijah, U.T. Ras, Moses I and Jah Thunder. Lyrically spoken themes range from reality (2 Kool & Dasta's "Crime & Violence") to matters of the heart (Nana McLean's "Love In Your Heart"), performed by a well varied line up of singers, singjays and deejays across a truly enjoyable, infectious backdrop. Amongst the 15 cuts for the riddim one finds many entertaining solid tracks and some real strong efforts like for example Spragga Benz, Assassin & Red Square's combination tune "More Girls", Mega Banton's "Another Hype" and U.T. Ras's "Blazing". The "Prophet" Capleton performs in his well known fiercy style, makes a good impression, but unfortunately some of his 'explicit lyrics' are covered by some annoying sound effects.
With "The Dot.Com Rhythm" young budding producer talent Vasco Carney gives you a "one riddim" set of reggae dancehall bliss!!

Teacher & Mr. T.