Various artists album review
Down By The River
VP Records / Walboomers Music
10 - 12 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Freddie McGregor - I See It In You
  2. Nadine Sutherland - Last Night Memory
  3. Glen Washington - More Time
  4. Fiona - No More Lonely Nights
  5. Sanchez - Pretty Girl
  6. Karen Smith - Thank You For
  7. Anthony Cruz - Missing You
  8. Ebony - She Will Never
  9. Morgan Heritage - Down By The River
  10. Jimmy Riley - Love Is the Key
  11. Mikey Spice - Forever & Ever
  12. Lukie D - You Are My Reason
  13. Ano Harris - Free
  14. Mikey General - Children of Zion
  15. Tolga - Bless You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Saxophonist, arranger and producer Dean Fraser created one of the hottest songs of the year with his remake of the classic riddim track to the Studio One song "What Kind of World" by the Cables. Down By the River by Morgan Heritage is bound for classic status for reggae music fans internationally. Among its credits, this song was the number one reggae single in the UK for 16 consecutive weeks. The song was also number one in Jamaica, France and Japan and is still growing in popularity in North America. Now VP Records presents the "Down By the River" compilation set with 16 new songs across this classic Studio One riddim.
This one-riddim compilation features some outstanding tracks like I See It In You by reggae veteran Freddie McGregor, More Time by Glen Washington and Mikey General's fine roots tune Children Of Zion. Other reggae veterans such as Jimmy Riley and Karen Smith lay down decent efforts. Female vocalist Nadine Sutherland impresses with her rendition, entitled Last Night Memory. The performances of Sanchez and Mikey Spice are two excellent lovers rock songs. There's also an instrumental version included entitled Mr. Saxman by Dean Fraser. "Down By The River" is an enjoyable "one riddim" album featuring a bunch of excellent, mainly lovers rock oriented tunes.

Teacher & Mr. T.