Down In Jamaica
Mafia & Fluxy / Irie Ites Records
November 19, 2009

Track list
  1. Good Sensi - Suga Roy & Conrad Crystal
  2. Bad Out Deh - Chezidek
  3. Bad Traffic - Lutan Fyah
  4. Light This Joint - Perfect
  5. On Y Croit Encore - Keefaz & Baby G
  6. Dubwize - Calvin 'So So' Francis
  7. We Never Tell Them - Ras McBean
  8. I Couldn't Do That - Glen Washington
  9. I'm Not Proud - Tanya Stephens
  10. Break Of Day - George Nooks
  11. Lickie Lickie - Cornell Campbell
  12. Love Doctor - Richie Davis
  13. Love Is Faded - Adele Harley
  14. Skip A Dance - Sylvia Tella
  15. Down In Jamaica Riddim - Mafia & Fluxy
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 7-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 12
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
The in Le Mans, France based Irie Ites label released a series of 7"s in the fall of 2007, being a joint release of 4 45s on Irie Ites and 4 45s just a bit later on Mafia & Fluxy's own label. As a tribute to Joseph Hill, the lead singer of Culture who passed away on August 19, 2006, Mafia & Fluxy together with saxophonist Dean Fraser relicked the 'Down In Jamaica'-riddim, released as a Culture single on Sonia Pottinger's High Note label in 1979 (to accompany the release of Culture's 1979 "Cumbolo" album) and also used for the Joe Gibbs and Errol T produced combination "Send Some Rain" with Clint Eastwood that was released in 1978. And now a one riddim album, adding another 3 Mafia & Fluxy productions, including the one I waited for for 2 years, has been released.

To cut a long review short, this is a fabulous relick by Mafia & Fluxy (alongside Dean Fraser) with great tunes recorded over it and well mixed by Calvin 'So So' Francis for Irie Ites and Mafia & Fluxy themselves for their own label. Chezidek's excellent "Bad Out Deh" and Lutan Fyah's equally strong "Bad Traffic" following. Perfect's fine ganja tune "Light This Joint" is followed by Keefaz & (the French - actually originating from Martinique - singjay, not King Jammy's son) Baby G's very nice "On Y Croit Encore" (in French) the fifth and final tune of the releases on Irie Ites own label in 2007, and then "Good Sensi" gets a very fine dub treatment as "Dubwize" by Calvin 'So So' Francis.

Mafia & Fluxy released the singers tunes on their label, with the exception of (by me always considered as 'Irie Ites own') Guyanese singjay Ras McBean's strong (more sung than singjayed) "We Never Tell Them", before Studio One graduate Glen Washington sings the poignant "I Couldn't Do That" and on the 45s solely representing the ladies was Tanya Stephens who absolutely shone on "I'm Not Proud". George Nooks' "Break Of Day" is another standout on this brilliant relick and Studio One & Treasure Isle (and many more studios) veteran Cornell Campbell contributed the magnificent "Lickie Lickie".

Three new tunes have been included on this one riddim album, with Cou$ins Records' Richie Davis delivering his beautiful "Come In Your Way" followed by the one tune I have been raving about two years that still hadn't been officially released, the great songstress Adele Harley's brilliant "Love Is Faded" which is the best tune over this riddim, amidst all these big selections. UK veteran first lady of lovers rock Sylvia Tella also contributes a smashing tune with "Skip A Dance" before this more than appropriate tribute to the late and great Joseph 'Culture' Hill is closed with Mafia & Fluxy (alongside Dean Fraser) championing the "Down In Jamaica Riddim" itself in its clean version. Even if you bought the 7"s, if you don't have the Adele Harley and Sylvia Tella tunes in your possession yet, you MUST get this superb one riddim album.