Various artists album review
Dread Beat & Riddims Volume 3
20 - 07 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Yellowman & Gregory Isaacs - Sugar Darling
  2. Culture - Trust Me
  3. Buju Banton - Hills And Valleys
  4. Horace Andy - Cassandra
  5. Garnet Silk - A Man Is Just A Man
  6. Burning Spear - Reggae Physician
  7. Itals - Titanic
  8. Jah Mali - Let Me Live / El Shaddai
  9. Bunny Wailer - The Toughest Dub
  10. Don Carlos - Time
  11. Beres Hammond & Marcia Griffiths - Live On
  12. Leroy Sibbles - Come Rock With Me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

Dread Beat & Riddims Volume 3 is a low budget sampler of HeartBeat Europe and Ras Records. You will find 12 reggae hitshots for the price of a single, ranging from reggae to dub. The cd opens with a track -Sugar Darling- by the combination Yellowman and Gregory Isaacs drawn from Freedom Of Speech . Beres Hammond and Marcia Griffiths is another combination featured here, they perform Live On, a track from Collectors Series .
Former Studio One recording artists Horace Andy, Burning Spear and Leroy Sibbles are present here with tracks from Leroy Sibbles' album Come Rock With Me , the Spear's album Appointment With His Majesty and Horace 'Sleepy' Andy's album See And Blind .
Three outstanding tracks on this album are Buju Banton's Hills And Valleys taken from his crucial set Inna Heights , the late great Garnet Silks A Man Is Just A Man drawn from Collectors Series and newcomer Jah Mali's El Shaddai from the album of the same name.
A great album for a small price......trust me !

Teacher & Mr. T.