Various artists album review
Dread Beat & Riddims Volume 4
05 - 09 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Apple Gabriel - Telepathic Wave
  2. Morgan Heritage - Trodding Jah Road
  3. Prince Malachi & Lion - Universal Pain
  4. Everton Blender - Bingi Man A Come
  5. LMS - Never
  6. Tony Rebel & Marcia Griffiths - Ready To Go
  7. Buju Banton - Destiny
  8. Michael Rose - Ganja Bonanza
  9. Culture - Legalization
  10. Denroy Morgan - Link Up
  11. Wayne Wonder - Rumors
  12. Horace Andy - Cassandra
  13. Anthony B - Give Me Some More
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Dread Beat & Riddims Volume 4 is a low budget sampler of HeartBeat Europe, HeartBeat and Ras Records. Featured here are 13 reggae hitshots for the price of a single, ranging from reggae to dancehall.
The album opens with Albert Graig aka Apple Gabriel, founding member of Israel Vibration, who performs the excellent roots tune Telepathic Wave which is drawn from the album 'Another Moses'. Next comes a track from Morgan Heritage's album 'Don't Haffi Dread' the strong tune Trodding Jah Road. An heavy Xterminator riddim is featured on Prince Malachi & Lion's Universal Pain. Check out his superb album 'Watch Over We' !
Rootsman Everton Blender is present on this compilation with the track Bingi Man A Come, taken from his album 'Rootsman Credential'. Deejay extraordinair Buju Banton comes up with a very strong track, Destiny, a track which can be found on his timeless set 'Inna Heights'. Another deejay who is on the forefront of the roots and culture movement is Anthony B. His Give Me Some More is a track taken from the compilation set 'Dance Hall Liberation'.
Most of the songs featured on this low budget sampler are well known tunes and offer the listener a great overview of modern (roots) reggae.

Teacher & Mr. T.