Various artists album review
Dread Beat & Riddims Volume 5
14 - 09 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Everton Blender - If You Want To Make It
  2. Spanner Banner - Better Must Come
  3. Tony Rebel - Loyal Soul Jah
  4. Angie Angel & Judy Mowatt - Life
  5. Michael Rose - Small World
  6. Chaka Demus & Pliers - Miss Fine
  7. Morgan Heritage & Laza of LMS - Kebra And The Fetha
  8. LMS - Living Spiritual
  9. Luciano - When You Wish Upon A Star
  10. Richie Spice - Wasting My Time
  11. Frankie Paul - Rude Boy Business
  12. Israel Vibration - Show Me The Money
  13. Dennis Brown - Bad Love Affair
  14. Culture - Intergalactic Excursion
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Dread Beat & Riddims Volume 5 is a low budget sampler of HeartBeat Europe, HeartBeat and Ras Records. It's a collection of fresh roots and dancehall music for the price of a single. The tracks are taken from recent releases and provides the listener a cross-section of the latest releases of the aforementioned record labels.
The album opens with a track -If You Want To Make It- from Everton Blender's latest album 'Visionary', followed by Spanner Banner's rendition of Delroy Wilson's Better Must Come. Cultural deejay Tony Rebel comes up with the excellent track Loyal Soul Jah which can be found on 'Realms Of Rebel'. From Michael Rose's 'Never Give It Up' album comes Small World, an album which doesn't get the appreciation it deserves. From the Morgan Heritage camp come two solid roots'n'culture tunes tunes : Kebra And The Fetha by Morgan Heritage and Living Spiritual by LMS. Further noteworthy tunes here are Richie Spice's Wasting My Time and Dennis Brown's Bad Love Affair. Most of the songs featured on this low budget sampler are well known tunes and offer the listener a great overview of modern (roots) reggae.

Teacher & Mr. T.