Black Chiney Presents ~ Drumline Riddim & Timeline Riddim
Black Chiney-Groove Attack
May 25, 2007

Track list
  1. Mr. Palmer - Movado
  2. Bun Out Dem Badmind - Notch
  3. Gun Dem A Count - Assassin
  4. Bloodshed - Lindo P.
  5. Booty Clap - Elephant Man
  6. Tool - Busy Signal
  7. Mek Dem R.I.P. - Vegas
  8. Never You Diss (Dem Boys) - T.O.K.
  9. 2000 Gyal - Ward 21
  10. Dancehall Vibe Machine - Voice Mail
  11. Nah Work - Munga
  12. Real Bad Boys - Hollow Point
  13. We Nuh Like Dem - Delly Ranx
  14. Drumline Riddim Version - Supa Dups & Khan
  15. Mofraudo - Vybz Kartel
  16. Small Strap - Busy Signal
  17. Nah Go Do Dat - Jagwa
  18. Addy A Mi Daddy - Aidonia
  19. Wasp A Buss The Place - Wasp
  20. Sen Fi Di Gunz - Ward 21
  21. Drumline Riddim Version - Supa Dups
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Black Chiney, the soundsystem that evolved out of being founding member Supa Dups' reggae/hip-hop mix-CD project, was established after he teamed up with Bobby Chin who became a selector on Florida's Poison Dart when Supa Dups was already selecting for them, and they quit to run their own sound. The Black Chiney CDs "Vol. 1 - Enter The Dragon", "Vol. 2 - Return Of The Dragon", "Vol. 3 - Revenge Of The Dragon" and "Vol. 4 - The Last Dragon" established the dancehall's big sounds best kept secret, before 'the new Black Chiney' became the hottest mixed CD when "Vol. 5 - The CD Killer" was released in November 2000. No more than half a year later they showed up at every big dance for the summer in Jamaica, and Black Chiney as a soundsystem took the dancehallscene by storm. With an even more powerful collection of dubs and refixes later that summer on "Vol. 6 - Mixology" they strenghtened and expanded that position, and their "Vol. 7 - Black-A-Chino" from February 2002 perfectly showed what Black Chiney is all about: riddims from both the JA dancehall and the hip-hop fraternity, like Black Shadow's 'Buzz', Rattler's 'X-5', CJ's 'Engine', Ward 21's 'Puke', Kings Of Kings' 'Martial Arts', Fat Eyes' 'Renegade' and Too Bad's 'White Liver' from Jamaica, and Outkast's 'Whole World', Timbaland's 'Oops My Oh', 'Feel The Girl' and 'For My People', DMX' 'Who We Be', Nas' 'Get Yourself A Gun' from the US all used for wicked dubs and remixes by the top notch usual suspects. Topped by the first self-produced Supa Dups riddim 'Reggae Thuggin' and 3 tracks (e.g. Elephant Man's "Acting Gay") using Soft Cell's 'Tainted Love'(!).

Then a silence of 2 years preluded their best mix CD so far, May 2004's "Supa Chiney V 8.1" taking them to even higher heights, including the very successfull self-productions on their 'Kopa'-riddim, that was their first album released in VP Records' Riddim Driven series. If you don't know what Black Chiney riddims sounds like, you haven't been in a dancehall the last couple of years. Last summer they released the booming hardcore riddim 'Higher Octane' - which in a way reminded because of its subsonic bass of South Rakkas Crew's riddims - as well as the great mix CD "Willy Chin Again", that although credited to Willy Chin in fact was nothing else than the eagerly awaited " Black Chiney Vol. 9" and Black Chiney's latest recruit Walshy Killa releasing a couple of strong mixes in the last 2 years. And now their 2007 riddim(s) 'Drumline' and 'Timeline' get the two riddim album treatment on their own independent label, once more giving us excellent tunes over a very powerful extremely danceable riddim.

This two riddim album is packed with hits and Mavado is the first to unleash his lyrics - aimed at Vybz Kartel - elaborating his feud with new name fi informa "Mr. Palmer" followed by Black Chiney stalwart, former Born Jamericans member and Thievery Corporation guest vocalist Notch, who recently released his album (with 7 Black Chiney produced tunes) "Raised With The People", convincing once more with his well sung "Bun Out Dem Badmind". Assassin is in very fine form as well doing his gangster gun lyrics in "Gun Dem A Count" before Canada's Lindo P. with "Bloodshed", Elephant Man with his funny gals tune "Booty Clap" and Busy Signal, Vegas and T.O.K. with their respective (all strong all violent) tunes "Tool", "Mek Dem R.I.P." and "Never You Diss" (Dem Boys)" all exploit this really brilliant dark sounding riddim with either lighthearted or dooming lyrics. With their focus heavily on gals and party vibes both Ward 21 with "2000 Gyal" and Voicemail with "Dancehall Vibe Machine" both contribute worthwile tunes, like the tough guys section riding this first (mix of the) riddim on the last three vocal tunes do, Munga with "Work", Hollow Point with "Real Bad Boys" and comeback 'kid' of last year Delly Ranx with "We Nuh Like Dem" before the wonderful clean "Drumline Riddim Version" as laid down by Supa Dups and Khan closes this first segment.

Vybz Kartel counteracts Movado on the alternate mix of the riddim called 'Timeline'-riddim with his excellent "Mofraudo" before Busy Signal contributes his second (very strong) tune of this album "Small Strap", the man who never really breaks through but delivers more than decent to great efforts almost all the time Jagwa chips in with "Nah Go Do Dat" and Aidonia once more disses Busy Signal under the title of "Addi Ah Mi Daddy" (as he did on Yellow Moon's 'After Dark'-riddim). Ward 21's "Sen Fi Di Gunz" is another welcome hardcore gun tune, their second on this collection, that is brought to a close by Supa Dups' clean "Timeline Riddim Version", leaving nothing to be desired for the hardcore dancehall fan (or ... shouldn't there at least have been one Sean Paul tune on one of the riddims) with one of the best dancehall riddims released in the first half of 2007.