From Dubplate To Download
Double CD
October 28, 2007

Track list
    Disc One
  1. Wailing Souls - War
  2. Reggae Regulars - Where Is Jah?
  3. Doctor Alimentado - Born For A Purpose
  4. Barrington Levy - Look Youthman
  5. Clint Eastwood & General Saint - Another One Bites The Dust
  6. Eek A Mouse - Wo Do Dem
  7. Yellowman - Zungguzungguguzungguzeng
  8. Frankie Paul - Pass The Tu Sheng Peng
  9. Wayne Smith - Under Me Sleng Teng
  10. Tippa Irie - Hello Darling
  11. JC Lodge - Telephone Love
  12. Gregory Isaacs - Rumours
  13. Home T, Cocoa Tea & Shabba Ranks - Pirates Anthem
  14. Krystal & Shabba Ranks - Twice My Age
  15. Home T, Cocoa Tea & Cutty Ranks - The Going Is Rough
    Disc Two
  1. Shaggy - Oh Carolina
  2. Cocoa Tea & Buju Banton - Too Young
  3. Garnett Silk - Lord Watch Over Our Shoulder
  4. Bounty Killer - Down In The Ghetto
  5. Beres Hammond - Over You
  6. Sizzla - Black Woman And Child
  7. Beenie Man - Who Am I
  8. Mr. Vegas - Heads High
  9. Shaggy - Blood Stain
  10. Elephant Man - Log On (Radio Version)
  11. Wayne Wonder - No Letting Go
  12. Alozade, Mr. Vegas, Hollow Point - Under Mi Sensi
  13. Vybz Kartel - Tekk
  14. Fantan Mojah - Hail The King
  15. Tony Matterhorn - Dutty Wine
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The double CD 'From Dubplate To Download' - subtitled 'The Best Of Greensleeves Records', celebrates 30 years in business. What started as a small record shop in Ealing, West London in 1975 - founded by the duo Chris Sedgwick and Chris Cracknell - is now regarded as one of the most important reggae labels in the world. They've been at the forefront of every emerging style of reggae over the past 30 years. From the roots and dub revolution to the digital revolution, from Dancehall to One Drop and from Ragga to Bashment. Besides some fantastic music the label is also known for great artwork.

This collection features 30 tracks, one track from every year of Greensleeves history - 1977 to 2007. From Dr. Alimantado's Born For A Purpose through to Tony Matterhorn's injury inducing Dutty Whine with hit after hit after hit along the way. With no less than five top 20 chart hits - Shaggy - Oh Carolina, Mr Vegas - Heads High, Beenie Man - Who Am I, Wayne Wonder - No Letting Go and Tippa Irie - Hello Darling.

The compilation opens with the label's first 12 inch, the mighty Wailing Souls with War. Another One Bites The Dust by Eastwood & Saint held the top position in the UK Reggae Charts for an amazing 9 weeks and would become the Greensleeves' all-time top-selling 12 inch. Eek-a-Mouse was a combination of singer and deejay, better known as singjay. Although Wa Do Dem was being banned, being considered too controversial, the tune became a huge hit. The deejay king of the early eighties was Yellowman aka Winston Foster. Here he contributes his smash hit Zungguzungguguzungguzeng. Frankie Paul had his strongest moments in the eighties with albums for several producers. The ganja anthem Pass The Tu Sheng Peng is a fine example of the singer's vocal qualities. The tune that sparked the 'digital revolution' in 1984 was Wayne Smith's Sleng Teng. Recorded for Prince Jammy, whose total dominance of this new style ensured his rapid elevation to King Jammy.

Gussie Clarke's imprint 'Music Works' dominated the scene at the end of the eighties. With his crystal clear hi-tech productions he was on every reggae/dancehall chart all over the world. Particularly successful were JC Lodge's Telephone Love, Gregory 'The Cool Ruler' Isaacs with Rumours and Pirates Anthem by Home T, Cocoa Tea and Shabba.

Disc 2 kicks off with Shaggy's reworking of a traditional folk tune -Oh Carolina- and it climbed to the top of all charts worldwide. The three most important deejays of the nineties were Bounty Killer, Beenie Man and Sizzla, all still alive and kicking! In 1998 Who Am I by Beenie Man achieved international success. The 'Warlord' aka Rodney Price, or best known as Bounty Killer, relicks the 'Shank I Sheck' riddim on the tune Down In The Ghetto. The cultural deejay Sizzla cut some very noteworthy sides for Bobby Digital, check out the thoughtful, mesmerizing Black Woman And Child. More niceness comes from hit tunes by artists like Wayne Wonder -No Letting Go- and Elephant Man's wicked Log On.

No surprises here, just a solid and worthwhile compilation!