Dub Echoes
Soul Jazz Records
2 CD
June 21, 2009

Track list
Disc 1
  1. Roots Manuva - Witness (One Hope) Walworth Road Rockers Dub
  2. Rebel MC/Congo Natty (feat. Spikey T aka Mabrac) - Creation Rebel
  3. Disrupt - Sega Beats
  4. Dub Syndicate - Forever More
  5. Harmonic 313 - Dirtbox
  6. King Tubby - Psalms of Drums
  7. Kode9 and The Spaceape - Sine of the Dub
  8. Andre 'Suku' Gray (of Ward 21) - Sign Rhythm
  9. U Roy & Francois Kervorkian - Rootsman
Disc 2
  1. King Tubby & the Aggrovators - Ruffer Version
  2. L.V. feat. Dandelion - CCTV
  3. Rhythm & Sound with Cornel Campbell - King In My Empire
  4. King Tubby & the Aggrovators - Jah Jah Jehovah Version
  5. Digital Dubs vs. Dubiterian - Deb Dub
  6. The Congos - Congo Man Chant
  7. Cotti - Run Things
  8. The Upsetters - Rejoicing Skank
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 1-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 0-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 1
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
From the renown UK record label Soul Jazz Records comes this double cd, filled with dub efforts from several production houses from around the world. It's released to coincide with the new DVD film of the same name by Bruno Natal. It marks both the 40th anniversary of the invention of Dub and the 20th anniversary of the death of King Tubby, the genius legend of this far-reaching musical revolution.

The album is by all means a lightning journey through the world of dub and dub related music, featuring Jamaican originators such as King Tubby, Lee Perry, Prince Jammy and Bunny Lee alongside electronic futurists and dubstep artists such as Kode9, Harmonic 313 (Warp), IV (Hyperdub) as well as original junglist Congo Natty and hip-hop pioneer Roots Manuva whose track sounds like an off-kilter version of one of those old Jah Tubby's dubs. Musical worlds collide as Francois Kervorkian meets Jamaican DJ legend U-Roy for Rootsman, and German giants Rhythm & Sound meet Cornell Campbell for King In My Empire.

The album might be rejected by pure traditional dub aficionados because the bulk of tracks offered here are non-standard dub efforts. King Tubby's classic Psalms Of Drums is followed by the heavy experimental, poetical dub of Kode9 and The Spaceape with Sine Of The Dub. It reminds us of Jamaican dub poet Michael Smith, while Ward 21's 'Suku' comes next with the Oriental flavoured instrumental track of the dancehall riddim 'Sign'.

Disc 2 opens with yet another wicked and wild classic from Tubby's, the dub version of 'Don't Trouble Trouble' by roots singer Johnny Clarke, and he renamed it Ruffer Version. It's one of the most extravagant 'traditional' dubs of Tubby's. CCTV by L.V. feat. Dandelion is not a dub track, but soundbwoy L.V. on the case with a superb vocal contribution from Dandelion. From the Dubiterian camp comes the wonderful Deb Dub. Dubiterian is going from strength to strength, check out their latest bunch of 7" singles on the 'Dub Land' riddim as well. The album ends in fine style with Lee Perry's Rejoicing Skank, the dub cut to the vocal tune by The Silvertones.

All in all an interesting selection!