Dub Rockers Vol. 1
VP Records
September 10, 2013

Track list
  1. Slightly Stoopid & Inner Circle feat. Capleton - No Cocaine
  2. Ntty feat. Alborosie & Busy Signal - Change - Vibes & Pressure Remix
  3. Bad Brains feat. Angelo Moore (of Fishbone) - Ragga Dub - Perro Bravo Remix
  4. John Brown's Body feat. Peetah Morgan - The Gold - Dubmatix Double Dutch Remix
  5. Anuhea feat. Tarrus Riley - Only Man In The World
  6. The Aggrolites feat. Etana - Complicated Girl
  7. RBC feat. Augustus Pablo & Tommy McCook - Java - Prince Polo Remix
  8. The Expendables feat. Eek A Mouse - Ganja Smugglin
  9. Rebelution feat. I-Wayne - So High
  10. Soja feat. Gentleman & Tamika - I Tried
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Dub Rockers Vol. 1 is an awesome 10 track compilation featuring US and European reggae acts alongside some of Jamaica's leading artists. Musicians from all over the world have adapted the spirit and the vibes of reggae music and thus created their own definition of reggae music and this set shines its light on some of the best efforts, combined with contributions of Jamaica's leading artists.

Capleton opens this album in truly fine style with a remix of Slightly Stoopid's No Cocaine, a powerful anthem that also features members of Inner Circle. A wicked outstanding tune! The tempo goes down, but the quality level stays the same as Italian reggae prince Alborosie comes next, in combination with dancehall stalwart Busy Signal and Natty, a singer/songwriter based in North London. Ragga Dub is an excentric dub workout by Bad Brains and Angelo Moore of Fishbone, followed by a smooth one-drop reggae effort entitled The Gold from John Brown's Body in collaboration with Peetah Morgan. One can feel the Hawaiian atmosphere in Only Man In The World. Rylee Anuheake'alaokalokelani Jenkins aka Anuhea is an Hawaiian contemporary folk rock singer and songwriter of Caucasian, Hawaiian and Chinese descent. Her debut album Anuhea was released in 2009 and is listed as one of the top 100 albums in the iTunes Store. Her teaming up with Tarrus Riley results in a very nice lovers tune called Only Man In The World.

The style changes with Complicated Girl. LA based Aggrolites deliver a wicked ska dub remix with songstress Etana from Jamaica. Java is a reincarnation of the 1972 original session featuring Augustus Pablo and Tommy McCook produced by Clive Chin. This 2012 remix features Long Island's dub rock outfit The RBC. Eek A Mouse redoes his 1982 hit tune Ganja Smugglin' in combination with The Expendables, a band out of California. The result is a hectic uptempo version of the original tune, injected with some nice dub parts. Once more the tempo goes down with the wonderful combination I-Wayne and Rebelution who deliver So High, a heavenly, fragile must-hear tune! The album closes with Soja who team up with German reggae artist Gentleman and Tamika for a rock influenced tune called I Tried.

Highly recommendable set!