Everlasting Riddim
Pow Pow Productions
Digital Release
January 25, 2011

Gentleman Track list
  1. Gentleman - Everlasting Love
  2. Natural Black - Just Be There
  3. Chuck Fender - Deyah Long Time
  4. Bescenta - Health & Strength
  5. Raymond Wright - Time
  6. Jennifer Washington - I Wanna Know
  7. Perfect - My Herbs
  8. Ginjah - Serpent
  9. Tamika - Gotta Focus
  10. Nature - In Love
  11. Sara Lugo - Bombs Of Love
  12. Nico D - Make It One Day
  13. Malijah - Who`s Gonna Run
  14. Singing U & Shocking Murray - Love How It Feels
  15. Smiley - Bad Minds
  16. Pow Pow - Everlasting Version
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 11-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 16
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Since 2004 Cologne based Pow Pow Productions -- the record label of one of Germany's most respected and oldest sound systems -- have released 'one riddim' samplers on a regular basis. Their riddim output started on 2002 with 45s on the "Celebrate" riddim and then it really took off with riddims such as the relicked version of the Ska classic "Shanty Town", the modern roots burners "Blaze" and "Superior", their only real hardcore dancehall beat called "Gladiator", and furthermore the "First Sight", "Overstand", "Respond" and "Surfer" riddims.

After about a year of inactivity on the riddim front, Pow Pow Productions returns in full splendor with a brand new rootsy riddim. As usual producer Ingo Rheinbay has teamed up with Jamaican players of instruments, this time with the Firehouse Crew and sax player Dean Fraser, to create this fresh original backdrop. The mighty 'live' played riddim goes by the name "Everlasting", and is taken from Gentleman's tune "Everlasting Love", a track featured on his latest hit album "Diversity". Names like Gentleman, Natural Black, Chuck Fender, Ginjah, Perfect, and Raymond Wright have already appeared on previous Pow Pow riddims, and because Ingo Rheinbay is known for preferring to put his money on talent rather than trend when it comes to selecting artists to voice his riddims, the line-up for this set furthermore includes artists like the up-and-coming Bescenta, Dutch singer Smiley, German female singing sensation Sara Lugo, the very talented Jennifer Washington out of Aschaffenburg, and Norway based Nico D, who already had a hit on the Jamaican reggae charts together with Jah Mason.

German and international reggae superstar Gentleman gets the ball rolling with one of the standout cuts on the riddim, "Everlasting Love". Another internationally known artist affiliated to Pow Pow Productions, Guyanese singer Natural Black, delivers a solid effort called "Just Be There", while 'the living fyah' Chuck Fender shines real bright on the outstanding "Deyah Long Time". All in all a great way to start this 'one riddim' sampler. Other rather well known names, Perfect and Ginjah, also comntribute worthy pieces. By now Perfect has recorded x-amount tunes that deal with the good herb and one would expect that he has run out of lyrics to deliver another good tune on this subject. However that's not the case as "My Herbs" definitely belongs to some of his best herb tunes. Since he was a protégé of Beres Hammond, Ginjah has slowly but steadily established himself as a force to reckon with and "Serpent" once again confims that he's a great singer and lyricist.

When it comes to those who still have to attract notable attention in order to become a mainstay in the reggae arena, it's Bescenta that reggae fans should keep an eye on. His "Health & Strength" leaves a strong impression and more or less the same goes for Sara Lugo, whose "Bombs Of Love" is a solid effort. Taking into consideration a few of his recent releases, it's obvious that Smiley is working his way up and "Bad Minds" is further proof that he's on the right track. Don't overlook Tamika either as this in Germany well established songstress shows that she's a major talent with the appealing "Gotta Focus". Another name to watch for in the near future is Nature. Even though "In Love" isn't his best tune yet, the singer with a vocal delivery that is somewhat reminiscent of Garnet Silk is poised for a breakthrough on an international level. Last but not least we have to big up Dean Fraser for his sweeping saxophone play on top of a riddim that is wonderfully played by the Firehouse Crew.