Evolution Of Dub Volume 5 - The Missing Link
Greensleeves Records
4 CD Box Set
May 28, 2010

Track list
Disc 1 (The Revolutionaries-Crueshal Dub)
  1. The Revolutionaries - Cell Block Dub
  2. The Revolutionaries - Dub My Whole World Down
  3. The Revolutionaries - Fancy Dub Up
  4. The Revolutionaries - Dubbing Storm
  5. The Revolutionaries - Ten To One Dub
  6. The Revolutionaries - Dress Back Dub
  7. The Revolutionaries - Dubbing West
  8. The Revolutionaries - Swinging My Dub
  9. The Revolutionaries - Unknown Dub
Disc 2 (The Revolutionaries-Earthquake Dub)
  1. The Revolutionaries - Earthquake Dub
  2. The Revolutionaries - Rasta Foundation
  3. The Revolutionaries - Fletchers Land
  4. The Revolutionaries - Ital Menu
  5. The Revolutionaries - Secret Agent
  6. The Revolutionaries - Heavy Rock
  7. The Revolutionaries - An Event
  8. The Revolutionaries - Black Diamond Rock
  9. The Revolutionaries - Collie In Dub
  10. The Revolutionaries - Pain Land Dub
Disc 3 (Sir Coxsone Sound-King Of The Dub Rock)
  1. Sir Coxsone Sound - King Of The Dubb Rock
  2. Sir Coxsone Sound - Capital Radio
  3. Sir Coxsone Sound - Live And Love
  4. Sir Coxsone Sound - Born To Love
  5. Sir Coxsone Sound - Mouth Of The Wicked
  6. Sir Coxsone Sound - Picadilly Circus Dubb
  7. Sir Coxsone Sound - Tribute To Mohammed Ali
  8. Sir Coxsone Sound - Many Moods Of Coxsone
  9. Sir Coxsone Sound - It's Reggae Time Dubb Rock
  10. Sir Coxsone Sound - Sounds Of Safari
Disc 4 (Sir Coxsone Sound-King Of The Dub Rock Part 2)
  1. Sir Coxsone Sound - Black Wars Reggae
  2. Sir Coxsone Sound - Zion Bound
  3. Sir Coxsone Sound - Travelling Israel Dub
  4. Sir Coxsone Sound - East Of The Rockfort Rock
  5. Sir Coxsone Sound - Psalms 87.2
  6. Sir Coxsone Sound - Bower Dub
  7. Sir Coxsone Sound - So Much Dub To Give
  8. Sir Coxsone Sound - United Africa
  9. Sir Coxsone Sound - Reggae Fusion
  10. Sir Coxsone Sound - Poor Man's Story
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 1-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 0-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 2-

Total votes : 5
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
Volume 5 (The Missing Link) is something special for dub fans. It includes the obscure 1978 dub set 'Crueshal Dub' and two fine dub outings by one of UK's most prominent sound systems, Sir Coxsone Sound, founded by Lloyd 'Lloydie Coxsone' Blackford in the 60s.

Disc 1 and 2 are produced by Ossie Hibbert, a fine musician who has not only played piano and keyboards on countless hit records but has also produced and engineered countless more. He started playing sessions for producer Bunny 'Striker' Lee and female producer Sonia Pottinger. The song that really broke him was 'Ace 90 Skank' by Big Youth in 1972. He became a member of The Soul Syndicate, and in 1975 he became involved in the Channel One camp, first as a musician, later as a largely uncredited producer, engineer and talent scout. The first tune he engineered was the 1976 smash hit 'MPLA'. Next to his work at Channel One he was also working alongside Errol Thompson at the Joe Gibbs studios. He gave two dub albums to the Mighty two to release on their imprint. One of them was 'Earthquake Dub'. Regarding the riddims and the way it was mixed, one might think it was an unreleased volume of the African Dub series. It starts with a sober dub outing of Dennis Brown's Whip Them Jah, a recut of the 'Pick Up The Pieces' riddim, while The Mad Lads' 'Ten To One' is rightfully transformed into Ital Menu. Further recuts include Junior Ross' 'So Jah Jah Say', Ken Boothe's 'Girl I Left Behind' U Brown's 'Heavier Than Lead' and 'Declaration Of Rights'.

'Crueshal Dub' is an obscure dub album and includes a brilliant reworking of Gregory Isaacs hit tune 'Storm', here simply retitled Dubbing Storm. The 'Ten To One' riddim is also present here, with a nice dub treatment on the horns section. Among our favourites are Henry Alexander's Studio One smasher 'Please Be True' which returns as a blazing uptempo dubtune called Dress Back Dub and a sweet dub gem called Fancy Dub Up which is the dub to John Holt's 'Fancy Make Up'.

Lloyd 'Lloydie Coxsone' Blackford was born in Jamaica, but emigrated to the UK in 1963 where became a major figure in the sound system scene. He started a cooperation with Duke Reid, the South London based sound and not the Jamaican producer. After a dispute he decided to call his sound Sir Coxsone. That sound was considered the London top sound for years. His fame grew as he moved into record production in the mid 70s. He scored with 'Caught In A Lie' by Louisa Marks, Fred Locks monumental 'Love And Only Love' and Ras Midas' churning 'Good Old Days'. When 'King Of The Dub Rock' was released in the autumn of 1975 the initial release was sold out in two days.

The album features riddims from producer Gussie Clarke as well as homemade riddims from the multitalented Dennis Bovell. The opening tune is a version of the Guiding Star riddim, seeing melodica player Augustus Pablo in fine shape. It's followed by a smooth dub work out of Delroy Wilson's 'Love' and a melodica driven version of 'Born To Love You'. More niceness comes from the dub reworkings of Louisa Marks’ 'Caught You In A Lie' and Gene Rondo’s 'Oh Sweet Africa'. Part Two came out some 7 years later. The intervening years had seen the UK's number one sound, now known as Sir Coxsone Outernational, tour all around the world. Part Two bristled with tried an trusted horn driven dubs popularised live and direct on the sound and came with spoken intro's. It includes an update of the ska classic 'Confucius' and Burning Spear's 'Travelling'.

Well worth the buy!