Various artists album review
Fat Eyes Delite Volume 1
Cylton Records
17 - 06 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Anthony Redrose, Anthony Malvo & Mikey Spice - Heaven is here
  2. Marcia Griffiths & Bounty Killer - Mi she adore
  3. J.C. Lodge - Child of love
  4. Culture - Budget stop read
  5. Beres Hammond - I wouldn't do that
  6. Yami Bolo & Capleton - Put down the weapon
  7. Mykal Rose - Calling my name
  8. Marcia Griffiths - Why me
  9. Everton Blender - Why do we have to war
  10. Mikey Spice - I need love
  11. Spanner Banner - A little taste of your sweetness
  12. Ambelique - Lonely soldier
  13. Jack Radics - Mighty race
  14. Sugar Minott - Ruff neck lover
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

After releasing some outstanding Jamaican 7" pre's (amongst them tunes on the wicked "Under Mi Sensi" riddim) and providing one-riddim tracks for the clash album "East Coast Meets Fat Eyes", we now get a real strong album collecting quality new material produced by Colin "Bulby" York and Lynford "Fatta" Marshall for their own Fat Eyes production. You get hit from all angles on this album. Great performers, powerful songs, tough riddims (of which some are reworked Studio One riddims), inspiring lyrics and a "live" sound provided by the cream of Jamaican musicians which include Sly & Robbie, Dwight Pickney, Dean Fraser, Computer Paul, Jazzwad, Robbie Lyn, Sky Juice & Sticky Thompson. Even within the strong album one cut stands out, Beres Hammond's "I Wouldn't Do That". This fine selection of contemporary lovers and message tunes will help big up the Fat Eyes name further.

Teacher & Mr. T.