Various artists album review
Fat Eyes Presents Dancehall Attack & Dee Lite
2 CD
October 10 - 2003

Tracking list

Disc One : Dancehall Attack

  1. Wayne Wonder & Surprize - Victim
  2. Capleton - Hands Up
  3. Junior Kelly - Jwel Of The Nile
  4. Bounty Killer - Mr. Wanna Be
  5. Capleton - Pure Sodom
  6. Sizzla - Jailbreak
  7. Elephant Man - Come Out Yah
  8. Beenie Man - Verbally
  9. Bounty Killer - Look Good Time
  10. Terror Fabulous - Jah Works
  11. Yami Bolo & Capleton - Put Down The Weapon
  12. Bounty Killer & Tanya Stephens - Cry & Bowl
  13. Beenie Man - Ole Taker
  14. Mega Banton - Rewind
  15. Capleton - King & Queen
  16. Chevelle Franklin, Elephant Man & Harry Toddler - There's No Feeling
  17. Future Troubles - Ain't No Stopping
Disc Two : Dee-Lite

  1. Sanchez - Always Be True
  2. Beres Hammond - Good Love
  3. Brian & Tony Gold - Thank You Love
  4. Yami Bolo - Willow Tree
  5. Benji Myaz - Can't Go On Living
  6. Singing Melody - Sweeter
  7. Culture & Marcia Griffiths - Where Is The Love
  8. Richie Stephens & Sanchez - Nothing Better Than Love
  9. Beres Hammond & Junior Tucker - Brother To Brother
  10. Freddie McGregor - Jah Never Fail
  11. Morgan Heritage - Kebra & The Father
  12. Mighty Diamonds - Slave Ship
  13. Cocoa Tea - Babylon Is Falling
  14. Yogie - Where You Heading
  15. Andrew Coombs - Soldier For Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Reggae and dancehall fans will be delighted with the release of the excellent compilation set " Fat Eyes Presents Dancehall Attack & Dee-Lite", which collects mainly the best works that have been released the past years on the 'Fat Eyes' label. Produced by respected production duo, Colin "Bulby" York and Lynford "Fatta" Marshall, this double cd contains serious bashment business including pieces to the "Ole Taker", "Sleng Teng", "African Beat" and "Sudd" riddims on the 'Dancehall Attack' disc.
The high prolific Capleton is here performing no less than four cuts and is captured in terrible and deadly form on "Hands Up", delivered over the awesome "Sudd" riddim. And also "Pare Sodom" - over the revitalized "Sleng Teng" riddim - and "King & Queen" are strong efforts. Already appearing on the 1997 released "Fat Eyes Delite Volume 1", the deadly combination between the Prophet and Yami Bolo "Put Down The Weapon" is once again included on a Fat Eyes compilation set. A great tune which is still worth while listening to. The same goes for Terror Fabulous who delivers one of his best efforts, the ebullient "Jah Works".
Also Bounty Killer is heavily represented with the outrageous "Mr. Wanna Be", the superb "Look Good Time" and also the nice combination tune with Tanya Stephens entitled"Cry & Bawl". Included are two decent pieces each for the "Doctor" Beenie Man (including the wicked "Verbally") and Elephant Man, the latter delivering a fine tune in combination with Chevelle Franklin and Harry "Nah Nah Nah" Toddler. Furthermore this set features standout efforts from Sizzla, Junior Kelly and Wayne Wonder alongside his deejay alter ego Surprize.
The 'Dee-Lite' disc concentrates on the roots and lovers side of Jamaican music. The album opens with Always Be True, a fine lovers tune across the Studio One riddim 'Joy In The Morning' performed by Sanchez. Beres Hammond delivers a decent tune, followed by the combination with the golden voices, Brian and Tony Gold. Their tune is introduced by Shaggy and these two know how to lay down a fine lovers track. Yami Bolo's rendition of 'Willow Tree' includes additional vocals by Bounty Killer. Benji Myaz is a great vocalist and Can't Go On Living sees him in fine style. Drawn from Culture's latest album 'Humble African' comes Where Is The Love, a splendid combination track by Joseph Hill and Marcia Griffiths. Tommy Cowan introduces the Junior Tucker and Beres Hammond track Brother To Brother. Freddie McGregor's Jah Never Fail I is a strong roots tune, released some years back. Morgan Heritage contributes the excellent Kebra & The Father and the Mighty Diamonds' tune Slave Ship is across the riddim of the Viceroys 'Heart Of Stone', courtesy of Sly and Robbie. More roots and culture is brought to you by Cocoa Tea (Babylon Is Falling) and Andrew Coombs (Soldier For Love)
Packed with wall to wall talent and strong efforts this set is a good purchase for dancehall & reggae fans who have missed the 45s and earlier seperate releases of the albums !

Teacher & Mr. T.