Various artists album review
Father Jungle Rock
Charm-Jet Star
December 14, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Sizzla - Go Somewhere
  2. Elephant Man - Get Mean
  3. Vybz Kartel - Everybody
  4. Beenie Man, Cornell Campbell & John Holt - One Pound A Day
  5. Luciano - Bless It Up
  6. Anthony B & Norris Man - Make It
  7. Lukie D & Admiral Bailey - Gangsta Call
  8. Utan Green & Chuck Fender - People Cry
  9. Tony Curtis - Yards
  10. Junior Kelly - Rock On
  11. Ninja Man & Thriller U - Virtuous Woman
  12. Determine & Robin - True Love
  13. Tanta Metro & Devonte - Sure
  14. Frisco Kid - Fi Wah
  15. Gregory Isaacs & Screechie - No Charge
  16. Anthony Cruz - Ready To Die
  17. Mega Banton - Sound Boy Crucifixion
  18. Kanaga - Better Must Come
  19. Military Man - From Wah Dey
  20. Singer I, New Kidz & Egg Nog - High Grade
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

It was I Wayne's breakthrough single "Can't Satisfy Her" that brought Loyal Soldiers' "Father Jungle Rock" riddim to general attention, but in fairness we have to point out that the "Free Willy" label deserves credit for kickstarting the riddim in 2003 when the label unleashed a notable amount of 7" singles featuring many Jamaican top artists. In the slipstream of the successful answer version of Loyal Soldiers Productions comes Jet Star's "Riddim Rider Vol. 20", containing 20 cuts for the initial "Father Jungle Rock" ( a remake of Junior Delgado's classic "No Warrior"). Some noteworthy versions can be found on this big riddim. First there's Sizzla, whose romantic "Go Somewhere" finds him in very fine form. Then it's showtime for Elephant Man, who delivers a typically energetic version with his "Get Mean" message and Vybz Kartel, arguably the most talked-about deejay on earth right now - is also on hand with "Everybody". A surprisingly wicked weed tune, "One Pound A Day", is delivered by an unusual combination trio consisting of Beenie Man, Cornell Campbell and John Holt. More herb tunes included here are Gregory Isaacs & Schreechie's "No Charge" and "High Grade" by Singer J, New Kidz & Egg Nog, both also worth of hearing. Luciano can be captured in real dancehall stylee on "Bless It Up", which brings us the Messenjah sounding like Frankie Paul (i.e. in the chorus parts). Another standout is "Gangsta Call", delivered by fine singer Lukie D in combination with deejay Admiral Bailey, whilst Ninja Man and Thriller U's solid "Virtuous Woman" is another classic piece of deejay and singer interaction. With the other tracks being worthwhile efforts as well, this cd is good value for money.

Teacher & Mr. T.