Various artists album review
Clancy Eccles And Friends - Fatty Fatty - 1967-1970
02 - 01 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Clancy Eccles - Fatty fatty
  2. The Fabulous Flames - Holly holy
  3. The Dynamites - Phantom
  4. Mony Morris - Say what you're saying
  5. Larry Marshall - Please stay
  6. Cynthia Richards - Foolish fool
  7. The Dynamites - Mr. Midnight
  8. Eric Morris - Simple Simon
  9. Clancy Eccles All Stars - CN Express
  10. Joe Higgs - Mademoiselle
  11. The Beltones - No good girl
  12. King Stitt & Andy Capp & The Dynamites - Herbsman
  13. Clancy Eccles - Aunty Lulu
  14. Busty Brown - Don't look back
  15. Eric Morris - My lonely days alone
  16. The Dynamites - John Public
  17. The Silvertones - Old man say
  18. Theo Beckford - Easy snappin'
  19. Barrington Sadler - Soul power
  20. Clancy Eccles - Bag a boo
  21. Drumbago & The Dynamites - Dukemania
  22. Busty Brown - Here comes the night
  23. The Silverstars - Promises
  24. The Dingle Brothers - I don't care
  25. Barrington Sadler - Rub it down
  26. The Dynamites - Rashid
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 2/3

Clancy Eccles is regarded as one of the most loved and respected personalities in the history of reggae music. Born in Dean Pen in the parish of St. Mary's on December 9th of 1940, he moved to Kingston in 1959 an started making records for Coxsonne Dodd, Leslie Kong and Sonia Pottinger.
In 1967 he started his own label, his first release being Eric 'Monty' Morris' major hit "Say what you're saying". During the next few years Clancy Eccles was one of the leading producers on the island. He was instrumental in helping Lee Perry set up his own operation when Perry left Coxsonne Dodd.
Unlike other producers he made sure that his artistes actually received all the money they were due. A rarity in those days ! From 1969 Trojan began releasing his productions on UK Clandisc. His records were very popular, not only in Jamaica and Afro-Carribean communities in the USA and the UK, buth also appealing to the British skinheads.
He produced hundreds of tracks with artist like Alton Ellis, Lord Creator, Lee Perry, Larry Marshall, Joe Higgs, The Beltones, Busty Brown, Eric Morris, just to name a few. He issued many records featuring his own vocals, ranging from heartfelt love songs to stinging social comment. He retired from the business in 1985, issueing "Mash up we country", a strong and fierce political statement.
This compilation collects 26 tracks from the period 1967-1970. Clancy used The Dynamites as backing band : Jacky Jackson (bass), Winston Wright & Audrey Adams (organ), Hux Brown, Bops Williams and Ernest Ranglin (guitars), Gladstone Anderson (piano), Val Bennett, Bobby Ellis and Johnny "Dizzy" Moore (horns), and Joe Isaacs, Hugh Malcolm Winston Grennan & Paul Douglas(drums). These almost long forgotten tunes from the golden days of rocksteady and reggae highlight some of the best of Clancy Eccles' early productions.

Teacher & Mr. T.