Various artists album review
Fat Eyes Dee Lite
Fat Eyes-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Sanchez - Always Be True
  2. Beres Hammond - Good Love
  3. Brian & Tony Gold - Thank You Love
  4. Ymai Bolo - Willow Tree
  5. Benji Myaz - Can't Go On Living
  6. Singing Melody - Sweeter
  7. Culture & Marcia Griffiths - Where Is The Love
  8. Richie Stephens & Sanchez - Nothing Better Than Love
  9. Beres Hammond & Junior Tucker - Brother To Brother
  10. Freddie McGregor - Jah Never Fail
  11. Morgan Heritage - Kebra & The Father
  12. Mighty Diamonds - Slave Ship
  13. Cocoa Tea - Babylon Is Falling
  14. Yogie - Where You Heading
  15. Andrew Coombs - Soldier For Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

'Fat Eyes Dee Lite' is a fifteen track compilation set which collects recent and not so recent works which have been released on the 'Fat Eyes' label, produced by respected production duo, Colin "Bulby" York and Lynford "Fatta" Marshall with addidtional help from Karl Toppin.
The album opens with Always Be True, a fine lovers tune across the Studio One riddim 'Joy In The Morning' performed by Sanchez. Beres Hammond delivers a decent tune, followed by the combination with the golden voices, Brian and Tony Gold. Their tune is introduced by Shaggy and these two know how to lay down a fine lovers track. Yami Bolo's rendition of 'Willow Tree' includes additional vocals by Bounty Killer. Benji Myaz is a great vocalist and Can't Go On Living sees him in fine style. Drawn from Culture's latest album 'Humble African' comes Where Is The Love, a splendid combination track by Joseph Hill and Marcia Griffiths. Tommy Cowan introduces the Junior Tucker and Beres Hammond track Brother To Brother. Freddie McGregor's Jah Never Fail I is a strong roots tune, released some years back. Morgan Heritage contributes the excellent Kebra & The Father and the Mighty Diamonds' tune Slave Ship is across the riddim of the Viceroys 'Heart Of Stone', courtesy of Sly and Robbie. More roots and culture is brought to you by Cocoa Tea (Babylon Is Falling) and Andrew Coombs (Soldier For Love)
'Dee Lite' is an enjoyable compilation set from the Fat Eyes label.

Teacher & Mr. T.