Various artists album review
Feel Like Jumping
08 - 05 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Nana McLean - Don't Worry About Me
  2. Nina Soul - Sleeping Trees
  3. Marcia Griffiths - Feel Like Jumping
  4. Dawn Penn - No No No
  5. Cecile Campbell - Whisper To Me
  6. Denise Darlington - Feel So Good
  7. Doreen Schaffer - Try A Little Smile (extended mix)
  8. Cecile Campbell - Leave Me In Misery
  9. Webber Sisters - Come On Home
  10. Little Audrey - Sea Puss And Bammie
  11. The Jay Tees - Buck Town Corner
  12. Jennifer Lara - Consider Me
  13. Myrna Hague - What About Me
  14. Norma Fraser - First Cut Is The Deepest (extended mix)
  15. Jerry Jones - Compared To What
  16. Hortense Ellis - Secretly
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

Producer from as far back as 1959 Clement 'Coxsone' Dodd can be regarded as the founder of Reggae music and his "Studio One" imprint as the most legendary record label in the history of Reggae. In search of a cultural dance beat for Jamaica his studio musicians created Ska. When the beat slowed down it became Rocksteady, then evolving into militant rock called Reggae. Excellent musicians like the late great Jackie Mittoo (who can be credited for providing a complete legacy of "riddims" still going strong today and enjoyed by many Reggae lovers all over the world), Don Drummond, Count Ossie, Leroy Sibbles, Roland Alphonso and Ernest Ranglin laid riddims for singers and vocal groups like The Wailing Wailers, Delroy Wilson, The Viceroys, Wailing Souls, Sugar Minott, Horace Andy, Freddie McGregor, Dennis Brown, Burning Spear, to name but a few.
This album however concentrates on some of the best records recorded by the best female artists at Coxsone's Studio One. The album includes top hit-makers like Marcia Griffiths and Dawn Penn. Most of the tunes found here are previously unreleased Studio One gems.
The album opens with a brand new recording from Nana Mclean. Sleeping Trees is an impressive vocal outing by Nina Soul over a track originally recorded by the male vocal group The Saints. Cecile Campbell is featured twice here : Whisper To Me and Leave Me In Misery are two of the highlights on the album. Doreen Schaffer's popular Try A Little Smile features the later 12" extended mix that brought both the song and the artist new popularity when it was released in the late seventies.
Marlene and Cynthia Webber recorded as the Webber Sisters and The Tonettes for Studio One. Come On Home was released in 1969 on the Supreme label. The Jay Tees were the two Berry sisters who were deejays. Buck Town Corner is about food and ganja, replete with the slang of the day. Jennifer Lara is responsible for another highlight on the album. She delivers a nice version across the 'I don't know' riddim on Consider Me. Despite several good outings, Myrna Hague (picture ont the front cover) never caught up with the public. Her 1975 track What About Me is a fast paced and soulful tune. The well know First Cut is The Deepest by Norma Fraser is featured here in an extended mix. The album closes with a tune by another fixture on the Jamaican music scene, Hortense Ellis. She recorded several tune with her brother, Alton Ellis, but was also quite succesful on her own. Her cover of Secretly still remains one of her most popular tunes ever.
This album is definitely a must have for all Studio One fans !

Teacher & Mr. T.