Various artists album review
Firehouse Crew Platinum Series Volume 1
Firehouse Crew / Reggae One Love
27 - 02 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - Rising Up
  2. Jah Cure - Chant
  3. Sizzla - Like Mountain
  4. Anthony B - Lava
  5. Singing Melody - Think You Should Know
  6. Michael Rose - War Fi Dun
  7. Mikey General - Red Hot
  8. Red Rose - Life
  9. Fred Locks - Want You Into My Life
  10. Lukie D - Heavy Load
  11. Red Rose - Too Much
  12. Half Pint - Buss Out
  13. Lukie D - You Got It Goin' On
  14. Glamma Murphy - Red Light
  15. Luciano & Sizzla - Build A Better Home
  16. Gregory Isaacs - Won't You Spend The Night
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

The Firehouse Crew consists of founding members George 'Dusty' Miller (drums), Donald Dennis (bass) and Paul 'Wrongmove' Crossdale (keyboards). Late 1986 they auditioned as the resident studio band for the legendary King Tubby's. Thanks to the late Devon Russell, the crew was brought to the attention of King Tubby who hired and christined them "Firehouse Crew", despite nuff gainsayings. Since 1988 they have played on a profusion of hit singles and hit albums. In 1995 the band, augmented by Dean Fraser and other fine musicians have been touring with Luciano and Sizzla. Having done several world tours with Xterminator, the band is now an accomplished show band and one of Jamaica's most in-demand studio bands.
This various artists cd comprises some of their most enduring productions. Seven vocal cuts give the listener the full range of the Firehouse Crew's monumental Mount Jerusalem riddim. Top dj's Sizzla, Capleton, Anthony B and Jah Cure, alongside vocalists Red Rose, Luki D and Singing Melody are at their best on this wicked riddim.
You will also find four cuts on the Buss Out riddim. Luciano alongside Sizzla brings a message of hope on Build A Better World. Luciano's voice and style meld very well with Sizzla's delivery, making this cultural combination tune an excellent one. Half Pint's performance is energetic, rolling over the riddim, whilst the riddim helps the Glamma Murphy track along at a good pace and he puts out a very good toasting performance.
Reggae Veteran Michael Rose and Mikey General put out two outstanding tunes on the same riddim. Here they are in real fine shape, both delivering a powerful message utilizing the fast paced riddim to its fullest.
Authority and class are stamped all over the tunes of talented Red Rose -Life and Fred Locks -Want You Into My Life-, but the smoothest tune of the album is the track by the cool ruler himself, Mr. Gregory Isaacs. Next to a first-rate riddim it has a catchy chorus that blend perfectly with his unique voice to make an appealing love song.
Other musicians include Winston 'Bo Peep' Bowen (guitar), Dean Fraser (horns) and on harmonies Conradine campbell, Althea Layne-Hamilton, Dean Fraser, Heather Grant and Leba Hibbert. The songs were recorded and mixed at 321 Strong, Digital B and Anchor recording studios.
We strongly recommend Firehouse Crew Platinum Series Volume 1 to all roots reggae fans, because this is pure 'lava' , 'red hot' and powerful 'like mountain' !

Teacher & Mr. T.