Flowers In The Desert
Tamoki Wambesi / Dove Production
January 17, 2016

Track list
  1. Dolphin 'Naggo' Morris - Down Here In The Ghetto
  2. Copie Copewell - Total Togetherness
  3. Jessie Red - Gun Thing
  4. The Liberians - Precious Memory
  5. George White - I'm Going To Miss You
  6. Peter Anglin - Come On In
  7. Junior English - I Second That Emotion
  8. Culture Dan - Money Fe Spend
  9. Peter & Paul - Turning Point
  10. Skully - Shy Girl (Disco Mix)
  11. Keith 'Natty' Myrie - Can't Get Used To Losing You
  12. Captain Duce - When Puss Gone
  13. Peter Anglin - So In Love With You
  14. Jah Deeanko - Don't Cry Africa
  15. The Royals - No One Knows
  16. Bedi - Roots People
  17. The Royals - Pick Up The Pieces Part 2
  18. Ken Parker - Closer To You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Since Roy Anthony Cousins, foundation member of The Royals, started to produce his own works and that of other artists at the beginning of the 1970s, he has released a trailer load of music on his own record labels which include Uhuru, Tamoki, Wambesi, and Dove. In 1983 he put out a neat 10 track compilation LP called "Flowers In The Desert", which appeared on Vista Sounds in the UK. Although this CD has the same title as that vinyl LP, it doesn't feature most of the tracks of that set. Artists such as Neville Mitchell, Derrick Pitter and Glen Lewis aren't around on this 18 track CD release. Only Keith 'Natty' Myrie's "Can't Get Used To Losing You" was also featured on the tracklist of the 1983 LP.

The "Flowers In The Desert" cd features a mixture of roots & lovers tunes and includes recordings done at studios like Channel One, King Tubby's, Harry J, Studio One and Tuff Gong Studios by well known names such as Dolphin 'Naggo' Morris (The Heptones), Junior English, Skully, The Royals and Ken Parker, but also material from lesser known artists. Because this compilation covers production works from different eras, this cd is somewhat of a mixed bag. However, this doesn't mean that it ain't a worthwhile collection, because it truly is as it contains enough tunes worth hearing. This surely goes for the opening track, the sufferer's tune "Down Here In The Ghetto" by Dolphin 'Naggo' Morris, which is a heavy roots killer. This song has been released several times on 7" and 12" vinyl and is also known as "You Can't Get I Out" by Naggo Morris & The Heptones. Also Peter & Paul's "Turning Point", in 1982 released on 12" vinyl by Kingdom Records, is a great roots tune, and so is the beautiful extended version of The Royals' "No One Knows", a version of the spiritual song "No One Knows The Trouble I've Seen". Needless to say that The Royals' "Pick Up The Pieces" (the original Studio One version) is one of the highlights here. When it comes to lovers, it's tunes like George White´s "I'm Going To Miss You", Skully's "Shy Girl", Keith 'Natty' Myrie's "Can't Get Used To Losing You", Peter Anglin's "So In Love With You", and Ken Parker's "Closer To You" that deserve repeated listening.

All in all this is a decent compilation from the vaults of Tamoki-Wambesi-Dove.