Various artists album review
Riddim Rider ~ Footstep
Charm - Jet Star
November 23 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Chat Dem A Chat - Capleton
  2. Enemy - Elephant Man
  3. I Will Luv Di Gal Dem - Vybz Kartel
  4. Luw Mi Nuh - Pickney
  5. Tell Me What You Got - Bling Dawg
  6. Nah Mek Dem Get Mi Dung - Mr Vegas
  7. Run Di Place - Leroy Smart
  8. Go Under Deh - Penny Irie
  9. Zum Zum Terrorist - Power Man
  10. Many Rainy Days - Beenie Man
  11. Pum Pum - Merciless
  12. Hotter Than You Now - Suga Roy
  13. Keep Your Head - Anthony B
  14. Hard Life - Lukie D.
  15. It Tuff Eh - Madd Anju
  16. Whine Around - Mr Lex
  17. I Like Your Style - Danny English & Egg Nog
  18. Nuh Lickle Jahn - Ce’cile
  19. Gal Mi Wah Love Up - Hawk Eye
  20. Gat Gal - Captain Barky
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

The follow up to the roots riddim "One 2 One" in Jet Star's "Riddim Rider" series is something completely different. The company strikes with a riddim so progressive, it'll drive dancehall fans crazy with its percussive high jinks and mad time signatures. The "Footstep" riddim comes courtesy of producer Leroy "Sugar Roy" Moore of Fire Ball Records, who hails from Race Course in Clarendon, Jamaica. Inspired by Papa San, he deejayed on a local sound called Black Lion before leaving for Kingston in pursuit of a musical career. Life in Jamaica's music capital was hard, but in 1993 he voiced his debut tune, "Proud A You", for George Phang's "Powerhouse" label, then recorded a series of tracks for labels such as "Xterminator", "Spragga Roots", "Digital B" and "Calibud" as Jamaica's contemporary roots movement gathered momentum throughout the late nineties. It was Calibud's Sheldon Stewart who produced his breakthrough hit, "You Can't Fool Jah", which he'd duetted with an old friend of his from Clarendon, the singer Jah Mali. Bobby Digital produced most of the tracks on Sugar Roy’s debut album, "Dance Nice Again", released in 2000. The title track of this album was a self production, and marked the launch of his own "Fire Ball" label, which has since issued a string of hit riddims, including the "Rachik", "Wanga" and "True Love". Whilst Sugar Roy continues to record as a deejay in his own right -check Hotter Than You Now included here, it's his productions that have attracted most attention to date.
This one riddim set collects an impressive line-up of top artists like Capleton, Elephant Man, Beenie Man and Mr. Vegas, all of them with innumerable hit singles and albums to their credit. For good measure Leroy "Sugar Roy" Moore added the latest deejay sensation from Jamaica, Vybz Kartel, together with the likes of Anthony B, Merciless, Mr. Lex, the hit pairing of Danny English & Egg Nog, Madd Anju and Lukie D, and it's clear that this twenty track collection is pure dancehall pleasure. Also newcomers like Pickney and Ce'Cile benefit from this hardcore riddim, as it turns their contributions into solid efforts. Also worth of hearing are the sweet vocals of Lukie D, who delivers an above par tune called Hard Life. Merciless delivers some real XXX Rated lyrics here, while reggae vet leroy Smart (!) is included here with his bouncy tune Run Di Place.
Bashment style to Di max !

Teacher & Mr. T.