Foundation Compilation ~ Reggae Series Volume One
Music Life Movements
August 19, 2010

Track list
  1. Leroy Sibbles - Dance Reggae Music
  2. Sugar Minott - Rock Dem Again
  3. Ken Boothe feat. The Tamlins - I Will Forgive You
  4. Glen Washington - Tired Of Being Lonely
  5. Linval Thompson - Perilous Time
  6. Jimmy Riley - Love And Affection
  7. Vernon Maytone & U-Roy - God Is Real
  8. Tony Tuff - Shouldn't Fuss And Fight
  9. Errol Dunkley - Don't Go
  10. Glen Washinton - My Life
  11. U-Roy - Tell It Like It Is
  12. Little John - Dread Now
  13. Vernon Maytone - This Must Be Judgement
  14. Tony Tuff - Smiling Faces Dub Style
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 4-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 5
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
What a line-up! The artists featured on this exceptional "Foundation Compilation ~ Reggae Series Volume One" set are all reggae stars with proven track records stretching back to the days of ska, rocksteady and serious roots music from Jamaica in the seventies. Almost everyone featured here retains a strong following among today's reggae audience, reflecting the ever present interest in quality vocal music. With vocalists such as Leroy Sibbles, Sugar Minott, Ken Boothe, Glen Washington, Tony Tuff and Vernon Maytone, names that should be familiar to even the most casual of reggae enthusiasts, it's obvious the listener is treated to pure quality of the highest standard, and indeed that's exactly what this set is all about.

All songs are fresh originals underpinned by compelling 'live' played riddims laid by Manu Genius, Marc Baronner, Marcus Hillman and Hans van Scharen for Amsterdam based Not Easy At All Productions and Fyah Beat & Music Life Movements Crew. Leroy Sibbles will certainly need no introduction to anyone who has heard classics such "Party Time", "Fattie Fattie", "Rock And Come On" or "Pretty Looks Isn't All", to list but a few. Here he kicks off the compilation with the light-hearted "Dance Reggae Music", a real nice feel good tune that urges you to put on your dancing shoes. Sugar Minott, whose untimely passing recently shocked the worldwide reggae massive, comes up with a similar theme in "Rock Dem Again". With this tune (recorded in June 2009) he once again showcases why he's called 'the original godfather of dancehall. Then it's time for romantic vibes. First there's Ken Boothe's solid "I Will Forgive You", followed by the heartfelt "Tired Of Being Lonely" featuring Glen Washington's thick, velvety voice.

Social commentary and truthful expression are the key words for Linval Thompson's "Perilous Times", which can be reckoned among the highlights of this album. The riddim of the wonderful "Love And Affection" provides the ideal basis for the soulful voice of Jimmy Riley, in the 1960s member of the successful vocal groups The Sensations and The Uniques. The combination tune "God Is Real" by Vernon Maytone & U-Roy is a wicked effort worth hearing. Another highlight and a real roots killer comes from the under-rated Tony Tuff, who excels with "Shouldn't Fuss And Fight". The latter's dubbed up version entitled "Smiling Faces Dub Style" rounds off the compilation in fine style. In between decent lovers tunes from Errol Dunkley ("Don't Go") and Glen Washington ("My Life"), U-Roy's solid solo cut of the combination tune "God Is Real" called "Tell It Like It Is", Little John's great uplifting tune "Dread Now" and Vernon Maytone's matching "This Must Be Judgement". In short, this album is a snapshot of reggae music at its finest.

For pure musical pleasure look no further than "Foundation Compilation ~ Reggae Series Volume One" -- 14 infectious tunes by some of the cream of reggae that keep you hooked for 56 minutes! Without any doubt a great addition to any reggae fan's cd collection.