Fowl Fight
CD / 2LP
May 31, 2005

Track list
  1. Fowl Fight - Vybz Kartel
  2. Tired Of The Pressure - Bounty Killer
  3. Set Your Conscience Free - Beenie Man
  4. In My Brain - Wayne Marshall
  5. Forget Me Not - Macka Diamond
  6. Relax - DaVille
  7. Start It Now - Anthony B
  8. All I Wanna Do - Voicemail
  9. No Way - Red Rat
  10. Girl I Need You - Lukie D
  11. Send Them Come - Future Troubles
  12. You Got Me Boy - M'Lonie
  13. Pure Gal - Ward 21
  14. We No Fraid - Baby G
  15. Burn Baby Burn - Tony Curtis & Future Troubles
  16. Tease Her - Desperado
  17. Me Man You Woman - Psycho
  18. Fowl Fight Rhythm - Richard 'Shams' Browne & Frenchie
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Frenchie, the talented producer of Maximum Sounds, responsible for riddims like 'Itch', 'Jedi' also featured on "Chich 13 - Dancehall Versions" and of course the absolute dancehall ruling 'Intercom'- riddim, as well as his very strong, still underrated 'Jumbie'-riddim and steel pan and hardcore bass heavy drum beats driven 'Blue Steel' delivers another wicked riddim. Built together with Richard 'Shams' Browne of 'Baddis', 'Juice', 'Glue' and 'Intercourse' fame, and recently responsible for both very successful Bobby Konders riddims 'Wanted' and 'Rah Rah', this riddim seems heavily inspired by the stabby, martial beats that peaked with Christopher 'Longman' Birch late 2004 'Military'-riddim, this riddim sets the feathers flying with an ultra-bombastic string section and swirling synths. Vybz Kartel kicks off this 68th installment in Greensleeves Rhythm Album Series with the title track "Fowl Fight" and its brilliant slack metaphores after you have a hen? mi have a cock fi yuh / mi a go carry it pon di block fi yuh / Fowl Fight!! / Tha lock fi yuh / And if yuh win today,tomorrow mi come back fi yuh. Bounty Killer is at his best as well on his reality tune "Tired Of Di Pressure" and Beenie Man is on a serious note as well in "Set Your Conscious Free". Wayne Marshall delivers the excellent weed-tune "It's In My Brain" before Macka Diamond deejays about how her tightness will make her lover "Forget Me Not" and one of my favourite singers, former A.R.P. member DaVille sings the excellent "Relax" exhale breathe / dem stress mi nah need. Anthony B wants the fassies to "Start It Now", before Voicemail prove once again they are THE vocal boygroup these days with "All I Wanna Do" is love you. Red Rat entertains with "No Way" and before it's lovers time again with Lukie D's sweet voice in 'Girl I Need You". Future Troubles uses the martial beats for war lyrics in "Send Them Come" and M'Lonie switches the vibe to the sexy vocals she already showed on 'Rah Rah' and 'Bubble Up' in "You Got Me Boy". Ward 21 deliver one of the best tunes on the riddim with their "Pear Gal" followed by the first vocal outing I ever encountered of Jammy's producer Trevor 'Baby G' James Jr. who makes his debut not on one of his own productions but for Frenchie's Maximum Sound label with his war tune "We No Fraid", and who has also voiced "In The Street" over the 'World A Music' now for Captain Sinbad and Frenchie on the Bad 2000 label. Tony Curtis & Future Troubles combine forces for the excellent combination "Burn Baby Burn". Both Desperado and Psycho, who seem to be featured on Richard 'Shams' Browne and Frenchie productions only, deliver entertaining tunes with "Tease Her" and "Me Man You Woman". The "Fowl Fight Rhythm" by Shams & Frenchie makes clear that this riddim is as hardhitting and infectious as last year's Christopher Birch scorcher 'Military' with its stabby martial beats. A must have for the dancehall massive.