Freedom Fire Riddim
Independent Works
Digital Release
September 2, 2014

Track list
  1. Torch - Blazing
  2. Exco Levi - Love Uself
  3. Busy Signal - Nah Follow Dem
  4. Shuga - Freedom
  5. R.C. (Righteous Child) - Word Of The People
  6. Fire Dub Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Biggup Independent Works for bringing through the golden "Freedom Fire" riddim, which has recently made it to a full digital release. The riddim actually originated a couple of years back - to be more precise it first surfaced in 2012. And thus this Reggae juggling contains at least one song with which you might be familiar, "Word Of The People" by R.C. aka Righteous Child. This Penthouse Records recording artist is joined by a very nice cast of vocalists, surprisingly including names of artists who can also be associated with producer Donovan Germain's Penthouse Records. Makes one wonder what the connection is between the latter and Independent Works.

Torch ignites the fire with his contribution, "Blazing", which is exactly what its title indicates. It's followed by Exco Levi's matching "Love Uself", a tune we remember from the summer of 2012. Next comes the all conquering Busy Signal with the downright masterful "Nah Follow Dem", which continues the blaze for the keeper of the fireball. Young female Reggae singer Shuga fully convinces with the fiery "Freedom", a powerful cut worth hearing. And also "Word Of The People" by Ryan 'R.C.' Campbell makes a good impression. The label is also kind enough to feature a dubbed out version of the "Freedom Fire" riddim called "Fire Dub Version", which is an excellent touch here in our opinion.

A very nice release, worth checking out.