From Bond Street To Greenwich Farm
Cousins Records-Black Arrow
May 22, 2007

Track list
  1. Put Down The Crack - Richie Davis
  2. Give Thanks & Praise - Luciano
  3. Leave The Collie Alone - Tony Curtis
  4. Want More Weed - Michael Rose
  5. Young Girl - Vivian Jones
  6. Don't Be Ungrateful - Leroy Mafia
  7. All We Need Is Love - Lukie D
  8. Get Ready - Tony Curtis
  9. Brag & Boast - Leroy Mafia
  10. Running For My Life - Luciano
  11. I Love You - Lukie D
  12. Running Back - Frankie Paul
  13. Let's Do Some Loving - Vivian Jones
  14. It Reminds Me - Richie Davis
  15. Armagideon - Prince Malachi
  16. Weed Inna Mi Head - Jigsy King
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4
Following the dropping of two albums on the heels of each other in the Rhythm 2 Rhythm Series in august last year, with its 4th volume 'Watch This Sound & What A Feeling' and its 5th "Volume 5 ~ Warrior Charge & Drum Song", Cou$ins Records producer Donville Davis - who had already proven he's capable of relicking classic riddims in fine style with 'Rocksteady & Beatitude' and the strong various artists albums "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1", "JA 2 UK Singers Vol. 3" and last year also "A Tribute 2 Studio One & Treasure Isle Records" - also showed a nose for picking the right riddims to license on the three various artists compilations, as "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1"'s inclusion of CJ James 'Without Love'-riddim and of course Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett's 'Heavenly' and then on 'Mo-Bay' & 'Desperate Lover' two riddims from Byron Murray's In The Streetz label were featured, strange as it may seem with In The Streetz not only being an outlet for Byron Murray's own productions like the very successful first attempt at a one drop 'Street Swing' but through their Rhythm Streetz Series Byron Murray (and Mr. Vegas) also released on CD and LP some extremely successful riddims by other extremely hot producers. Then Cou$ins Records released its 8th volume of the Rhythm 2 Rhythm Series "From Creation / Real Iron" compiling two older selections from UK producer Steve Martin a.k.a. Blacker Dread with the 'Real Iron' from 2003 and 'From Creation' from 1998 (though earlier in 1984 recorded).

And joining all the releases of albums either relicking or revoicing great rocksteady riddims from Studio One and Treasure Isle but even Bunny Lee - like Colin B's "Rain Or Sunshine" over Bunny Lee riddims, the Blackstones' (Coxsone Dodd produced) "Tribute To Studio 1" over Studio One riddims and a couple of great releases paying tribute to Duke Reid's Treasure Isle riddims like Bitty McLean's "Peckings Presents... On Bond Street With The Supersonics" and "Made In Jamaica", the Peckings compilation "Old Skool Young Blood Volume 1" and last but not least the Blackstones' combined tribute to Studio One and Treasure Isle "Greater Power"and Mike Brooks' Treasure Isle tribute album "Break Free ~ Singing On Classic Tracks From Treasure Isle" - is this excellent "From Bond Street To Greenwich Farm" release from Donville Davis' Cou$ins Records on which the singers deliver their beautiful tunes over classic Treasure Isle and Bunny Lee riddims.

This "From Bond Street To Greenwich Farm" album starts at Bond Street with a couple of tunes across the riddim that became truly hot again when Bitty McLean voiced his "Baby Tonight" over it, the Sensations' 1968 Treasure Isle riddim 'Those Guys' (a.k.a. as the riddim of John Holt's "I'll Be Lonely"), with Richie Davis urging to "Put Down The Crack" and Luciano to "Give Thanks & Praise", before Tony Curtis and Michael Rose contribute their tunes across Slim Smith' in 1970 for Bunny Lee voiced 'Watch This Sound'-riddim. It's back to the 'Those Guys'-riddim again for Vivian Jones' impressive "Young Girl" and - one of Donville Davis' real-life cousins Mafia & Fluxy - Leroy Mafia with the wonderful "Don't Be Ungrateful". Lukie D's "All We Need Is Love" and Tony Curtis' second tune on this compilation "Get Ready" are great tunes using the Bunny Lee riddim of Slim Smith' 'Everybody Needs Love'.

Leroy Mafia's "Brag & Boast" is a smashing tune over Phyllis Dillon's Treasure Isle 'Stay Away'-riddim and so is Luciano's "Running For Your Life". Lukie D with "I Love You" and Frankie Paul with "Running Back" both excel over Cornell Campbell's 'Gorgon'-riddim before Vivian Jones with "Let's Do Some Loving" and Richie Davis with "It Reminds Me" maintain the wonderful sweet lovers vibes. Roots singer Prince Malachi shows he's an as skillful singer as he was at the shortlived peak of his career immediately after his debut in 1999 and 2000 with the truly great (and yes I know, at his best he does sound like Luciano) "Armagideon" as the 'Watch This Sound' riddim comes along before the only deejay on this compilation Jigsy King delivers the wicked "Weed Inna Mi Head" oldschool style over 'Everybody Needs Love' with its great organ riff, closing an hour of truly wonderful mostly sweet voiced singers tunes proving Cou$ins remains a force to reckon with for both strong productions of Jamaican singers and for pushing great British vocalists. This is a must buy album for anyone who was as impressed by the earlier mentioned Peckings, Cou$ins, Teams and Blackstones albums as I was.